Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2014, 06:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 115
Default weak range for Asus pce ac 68?

I just got thus wireless network adaptor. Because I was frustrated with the poor performance of my previews TP Link wireless adaptor. But the thing is Asus adactor gets weaker signal. I cannot bring the router close to me because I'm in a residence. What's going on? This new card is way more expensive and has external mounting board for antennas. Is there some kind of setting I have to fiddle with?
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2014, 06:48 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,015

My System Specs

Default

What router are you using? That will more affect range than anything.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2014, 06:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 115
Default

I don't know I assume they don't have a good router. However I have my own router which is Asus RT N66U. Can I use it to make a bridge betwen the two routers?
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2014, 04:39 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 663

My System Specs

Default

Well I'm sure you can set the router to bridge mode I have same router.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2014, 04:46 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 775

My System Specs

Default

See if you can connect your RT66 in their router physically?
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2014, 09:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 115
Default

So I enabled bridge mode but it disconnects too often and I can't surf the web because it constantly disconnects and reconnects. The link rate fluctuates but it's never at its full potential. Sometimes when it's good I get good speed for about 30mins. In total there are only 6 people sharing the connection and the modem and the other router are just a couple of rooms away. How do I configure my router or wireless network adaptor to get a better signal?
I included a screenshot.

View image: New Bitmap Image
__________________
Desktop:

Core i7 920 on EVGA X58 @ 3.95GHZ
Noctua NH U12P 1366
OCZ DDR3 Triple Channel Gold Version 6GB (8-8-8-24)
EVGA GTX 260SC
Windows Vista Ultimate X64
750GB Hardisk
Antec P182 Case: Quiet but not very good for cooling

Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad SL500
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2014, 09:57 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,015

My System Specs

Default

Given what you have tried on your part, its either the main router they are using, or the actual modem (maybe something else on the ISP side). Is anyone else having issues that is the same distance from the router?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The weak Canadian dollar and prices ZzzSleep Off Topic 7 May 3, 2014 01:36 PM
Weak link in my headphone gear? biff Audio 0 July 4, 2013 11:18 PM
Weak ports on SSD? shadow of chaos Storage 2 August 22, 2012 05:18 PM
New PC - mid range severity New Builds 10 November 27, 2010 07:00 PM
FS: Mid Range Rig Caldezar Buy/Sell & Trade 8 October 5, 2008 11:25 AM