Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2014, 08:09 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,704

My System Specs

Default Advice on a wireless router

I'm looking for a decently priced router (sub-$200 would be great) that specifically needs to cover long distances and have solid penetration. Likely distance for wireless will be roughly up to 50-70 metres and will be from one house to another. I'd love some suggestions from people before I go buying something that falls flat.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2014, 01:45 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,704

My System Specs

Default

Currently I'm looking at setting up 2 880L's in bridge mode. This will place them roughly 40 feet apart, and in separate buildings. Thoughts?
D-Link DIR-880L Wireless AC1900 Dual Band Router, w/ 4 Port Gigabit Switch, Black at Memory Express
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2014, 02:35 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

The Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 and the ASUS RT-AC66U and AC68U are likely your best choices.

That being said, is the primary use of this WiFi for a point-to-point link between properties? If so, you should likely look at and outdoor AP so it doesn't have to travel through walls as much and (ideally) have them lined up approximately at each other.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2014, 04:16 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,704

My System Specs

Default

It's a single property with a detached office. Internet is in the office, and there's no real option for hard lining to the house. The current setup of a single wireless router in the office gives them a VERY weak signal in parts of the house, but they need something more solid. And outdoor AP's make me nervous as they're in the middle of nowhere about an hour out of Edmonton, so it needs to handle severe cold snaps in the winter.

I'll look in to those routers. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2014, 04:46 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

why not hardwire via pex tubing & cat 6 buried $280 and no open connection
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2014, 04:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

How's the line of sight? Maybe locating the internet enabled router in an oddball location (high up on the wall maybe if it's a single story building) would offer better reception for the home? You can always come up with something like powerline ethernet to connect from within the office where the router is connected.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2014, 07:42 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,704

My System Specs

Default

I thought about hardlining, but it would require a LOT of effort as we would have to dig up a section of the packed driveway. It's an awkward LoS.

I tried placement all over the place. Unfortuinately it's just a bit too far for the current gear. With a solid quality router though, I can always bridge the connection if necessary.

powerline is unfortunately a no-go as well as bothe buildings are on completely independent electrical panels.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2014, 09:40 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
I thought about hardlining, but it would require a LOT of effort as we would have to dig up a section of the packed driveway. It's an awkward LoS.

I tried placement all over the place. Unfortuinately it's just a bit too far for the current gear. With a solid quality router though, I can always bridge the connection if necessary.

powerline is unfortunately a no-go as well as bothe buildings are on completely independent electrical panels.
I wasn't thinking powerline between the two buildings... I was thinking powerline within the office building if you had to locate the router in a less than ideal location reference to the office PC(s).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2014, 10:01 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,704

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I wasn't thinking powerline between the two buildings... I was thinking powerline within the office building if you had to locate the router in a less than ideal location reference to the office PC(s).
Ah, I see what you're saying. Well that's fortunately not a concern as the office is quite small. It's only 2 rooms and a store room. Basically it's a converted carriage house.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Wireless N Router and Wireless N card SugarJ Buy/Sell & Trade 9 April 11, 2012 06:53 PM
is there any benifet upgrading router from wireless g to wireless N? Shadowmeph Networking 4 April 26, 2011 07:12 AM
Wireless N Router & Wireless B/G Adapters cul8erppl Networking 11 September 3, 2010 01:02 AM
Need a new wireless router.. Realityshift Networking 16 June 5, 2009 06:27 PM
Wireless Router no_pulse Networking 14 January 6, 2009 10:41 PM