Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2014, 07:40 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 862

My System Specs

Default wifi for blu-ray/mkv

Hello guys ,


Does anyone of you know a great wifi router (B/G/N) that i can use for streaming films mostly blu-rip and mkv files ? i have around 50$ to spend

I don't have alot of distance to cover (around 20 ft). I cannot pass a cable thru the wall or simply leave in the corner of the wall and the floor.

Thanks for your suggestions.

Alp



I just have a idea, do you think a powerline will also do the job ?
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch

Last edited by Alpine; June 10, 2014 at 07:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2014, 08:27 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 540
Default

The 500Mbps power line would be a better choice for streaming. Wireless is susceptible to so many things and a bluray will run 40-50Mbps, if there is a dip or sudden drop you will get stuttering, audio sync issues with MKV etc. Powerline has a slightly higher latency over a regular network, but thats perfectly acceptable for 99% of home uses and would not effect video play back at all. I was able to get a powerline to work in a pinch across two panels off the same transformer 150-200' away... that was pretty bad. I was impressed with it overall though for a regular use case.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2014, 07:01 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 52
Default

I use an Linksys EA3500 myself. Streaming mostly mkvs without any issues when connected to N. Never used powerline myself.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2014, 07:54 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

I think power line should be able to do the job, especially if you're trying to go that short of a distance.

As for wireless, I know wireless N can at least stream 720p mkvs without any issues (at my parent's place), as for 1080p or bluray, I'm not quite as sure. Depends on what else is on your wireless network eating up bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2014, 02:02 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 862

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys for thoses suggestions and i've buy one of thoses powerline. I just wish this work well
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2014, 02:30 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,497

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
Thanks guys for thoses suggestions and i've buy one of thoses powerline. I just wish this work well
My experience with powerline is to try different outlet combinations if your first one isn't optimal which can make a big difference.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2014, 07:43 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 540
Default

Also don't plugin to the UPS on the endpoints, it WILL kill the signal. Some "noise filtering" power bars can be an issue as well. Just plug right into the wall socket if you can or at least test there first and get brave with power bars after you know it works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2014, 09:31 AM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 862

My System Specs

Default

I receive my powerline yesterday, this sound great for now. I didn't have time to install it but i will do it after work day.
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2014, 11:16 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,497

My System Specs

Default

The other benefit to powerline is the ability to plug a network switch into it thus extending it to multiple devices without having to deal with multiple finicky wireless connections on a different floor.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2014, 08:00 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 862

My System Specs

Default

Wow . this is great. This little thing work very well. I have good speed on the internet and i am able to play any kind of files (mkv/iso/blu-ray and dvd rip) from my server in the basement.

I have buy this kit: http://www.ncix.com/detail/tp-link-t...o-83-88351.htm
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

Twitch
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte GA-H87N-WIFI vs Gigabyte GA-Z87N-WIFI? SAS CPU's and Motherboards 2 September 20, 2013 03:33 PM
using router wifi if PC doesn't have wifi card? Shadowmeph Networking 12 May 4, 2013 05:47 PM
RDC over local Wifi vs remote wifi vs 3G Generic User #2 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 January 23, 2012 07:14 AM
little help with wifi gingerbee Networking 19 October 18, 2009 03:58 PM
MB P5K-E Wifi AP won't Post at all PaxeSalute Troubleshooting 19 March 20, 2008 01:43 PM