Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2014, 11:32 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Solid in the walls, strand is for patch cables. IMHO.

Edit: I picked up my patch panel, keystones and punchdown tool for my house at monoprice.com. And all my faceplates and banana plugs for my speakers too.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2014, 12:40 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 531

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Solid wiring vs strand wiring.. I'll go with solid any day.

I hate trying to crimp strand wiring just never works well.
Sorry I have been up for 48 hours... CAT6 has an Plastic separator option that is escaping me right now. thats what I meant by solid core..
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2014, 12:54 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueByte View Post
CAT6 also has cable with a solid core or not... there are a lot of different kinds. Honestly unless you live in an industrial complex just get the CAT 6 non solid core if its the same as CAT5e. You don't need shielding unless its some special use case. The solid core will be better for long runs, but in a normal house you are probably hard pressed to get 100' runs and even then thats not "long".

Because I have boxes the stuff when I ran my house I have 3 going to each room, CAT5e, CAT6 and CAT6 solid core.... there is 0 difference between them.

why leave it to chance to have interference when run net cables beside hydro lines and EMF
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2014, 05:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for all that great information people. I'll put it to great use.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a place that will replace cat6 end Silent_Avenger Networking 11 September 7, 2012 06:29 PM
gigabit ethernet on cat5e? dandelioneater Networking 7 March 19, 2012 05:36 PM
No ends at the end of the Cat5e cables? lsquare Networking 12 January 3, 2012 11:30 AM
[WTB] 500ft of cat5e/Cat6 in Ottawa. Skyllz Buy/Sell & Trade 4 October 15, 2009 07:02 AM
Cat6 Phobia Networking 10 July 3, 2008 12:51 AM