Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 11:49 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 914

My System Specs

Default Help which Router!

on Saturday going into the 3rd period of Leafs vs Habs my 1 router died and I mean died. It no longer lights up just makes a weird buzzing/humming sound and does nothing even tried unplugging it all and trying a different outlet same thing.

Thankfully my little town has a Wal-Mart open till 11 PM so I was able to go there and price matched and got a D-Link DIR-810L for $49.99 + tax (also known as D-Link AC750)

The router that died was my trusty NetGear WNDR3700 (worked pretty good most of the time, a few times had to be restarted or would drop connection).

I have some other options today as I'm at work in the City so I can use kijiji etc.

Should I keep the router I got from Wal-Mart the D-Link DIR-810L $49.99
or I can get the following used :
ASUS RT-N16 $50
ASUS RT-N56U $65
D-Link DIR-628 $25

Now to explain my situation I am with Rogers, I have their modem (the weird one with tons of little circles setup in bridge mode so its just a modem (not a router), then I had my WNDR3700 router (which I rarely use wireless on and we do all our gaming on that network).

We then have a Linksys E4200 upstairs (wired to the WNDR3700) and that is our american router so to speak as I have un-blockus on that router for netflix etc and it does a lot of wireless streaming to our xbox's, 1 computer that is hooked up to tv etc. We also do most of our downloading of TV series, movies, and games on that network. Never had an issue with this router ever and only ever rebooted it when the WNDR 3700 lost its connection and only because its force of habit lol.

So let me know we have a 4 floor home and a small yard 75x75 that the kids like to be able to use their iPod's, iPhone's, Tablet's and once in a while the Laptop's and or Xbox's outside (as we will hook it up for movie nights in the summer so the kids can watch a movie outside and not worry about popcorn mess etc and its nice fresh air :)

Thanks in advance guys. I'm leaning towards keeping the one I have or getting the ASUS RT-N56U.

QUICK BREAKDOWN : 4 Computers (3 hard wired/1 wireless), 2 Laptops (wireless), 3 iPhone's (wireless), 2 Tablets (wireless), 3 Xbox 360's (wireless), 1 iPod (wireless)!

2 Network's : rogers modem --> DIR-810L (rogers network) ---> E4200 (unblock-us american network for netflix etc)

DIR-810L : only a few wireless devices
E4200 : many wireless devices
4 Floor home (and not a huge property)
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120

Last edited by trayton; January 20, 2014 at 12:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 01:30 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

My choice would be the RT-N56U. Concurrent dual-band with Gigabit RJ-45.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 01:39 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

My vote is the same, N56U. I have the RT-N16 and it's a wicked router. The wireless on it, even with DD-WRT boosting the power, is meh though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 03:37 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

ASUS RT-N56U the way to go 10/100/1000 transfer while dlink only supports 10/100
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 04:35 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Was there an issue with your Rogers modem/router combo? I would say just use that as I'm pretty sure it'll cover your needs as well.

Likewise, Rogers has a new modem out now too which I think you can upgrade to for minimal costs. Maybe just complain yours is slow or has bad WiFi coverage.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 04:49 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default


Rogers
Advanced Wi-Fi Modem
Dual Band (2.4GHz/5GHz) support

Rent - $12.00/month or Purchase - $249.95

its a Hitron CGN3 modem
rogers firmware has been updated to 4.2.4.1 with the USB Storage feature support!

Last edited by KaptCrunch; January 21, 2014 at 02:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 05:37 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,915

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post

Rogers
Advanced Wi-Fi Modem
Dual Band (2.4GHz/5GHz) support

Rent - $12.00/month or Purchase - $249.95
^^^Can anyone say cash cow.

Stick with the ASUS unless you find a real good deal on something else.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 07:45 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
^^^Can anyone say cash cow.

Stick with the ASUS unless you find a real good deal on something else.
A DCM475/6 modem is $100. A decent router is $100-150. I don't think Rogers is really over-charging much (surprisingly) assuming it works decently. I believe this is also the only modem that supports the highest speed tiers from Rogers too as it's capable of more channels for both downstream and upstream.

That being said, people on the Rogers forums seem to have been able to get it for $150.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2014, 08:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
A DCM475/6 modem is $100. A decent router is $100-150. I don't think Rogers is really over-charging much (surprisingly) assuming it works decently. I believe this is also the only modem that supports the highest speed tiers from Rogers too as it's capable of more channels for both downstream and upstream.

That being said, people on the Rogers forums seem to have been able to get it for $150.
Hrmmm... I was going to ask what kinds of speeds as I get 30+ / 10 down with my extreme package on my cisco DPC3825, but I see now that they've got standard packages up to 150, and a "check availability" for 350 Mbps.

I should actually trade in my cisco since I get to buy the hardware for a buck after a few years, but it's working and I'd hate to upgrade only to run into issues. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 03:24 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

it's beed reported in gateway about 125 Mbps down and 10 Mbps up with the cgn3

Bridge mode and going through Asus RT-N66U the speeds drop to about down 10% and still 10 or so up.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plug a router to another router? ShinraCorp Networking 11 June 14, 2013 11:25 AM
Best router for me? Thund3rball Networking 30 January 17, 2013 08:56 AM
telus optik modem/router to router CTA Networking 0 January 9, 2011 05:38 PM
Which router? Gameplaywarrior Networking 18 October 12, 2008 11:01 PM
Router to a Router? Scotch Tape Networking 5 September 13, 2008 06:27 PM