Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 06:14 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Hrmmm... I was going to ask what kinds of speeds as I get 30+ / 10 down with my extreme package on my cisco DPC3825, but I see now that they've got standard packages up to 150, and a "check availability" for 350 Mbps.
Yup, the 150Mbps tier needs 16 downstream channels. The DCM47x and your Cisco model only support 8.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 07:14 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,147

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
A DCM475/6 modem is $100. A decent router is $100-150. I don't think Rogers is really over-charging much (surprisingly) assuming it works decently. I believe this is also the only modem that supports the highest speed tiers from Rogers too as it's capable of more channels for both downstream and upstream.

That being said, people on the Rogers forums seem to have been able to get it for $150.
At $150 its not as unreasonable. Previous post said $249.95.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2014, 02:58 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 917

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the input (at this time I can't afford the Rogers one and my speeds are fine at 45mpbs/4mpbs

Also I just noticed most of you said the ASUS RT-N56U $65 would be my best bet

Just noticed Canada Computers has this one :
Linksys N900 E4200V2 Refurbished, Maximum Performance Dual-Band N Router



see here Canada Computers | Networking | Linksys N900 E4200V2 Refurbished, Maximum Performance Dual-Band N Router

So which one of those 2 should I get?
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2014, 03:28 PM
GrumpyGeek's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 109
Default

This is totally off topic and im sorry. Were you streaming the leafs game and if so what site were you using. I have been looking for a good site but cant seem to find anything that is good
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2014, 04:16 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

yes for Linksys cause it does 900Mbps while asus does 300Mbps
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plug a router to another router? ShinraCorp Networking 11 June 14, 2013 12:25 PM
Best router for me? Thund3rball Networking 30 January 17, 2013 09:56 AM
telus optik modem/router to router CTA Networking 0 January 9, 2011 06:38 PM
Which router? Gameplaywarrior Networking 18 October 13, 2008 12:01 AM
Router to a Router? Scotch Tape Networking 5 September 13, 2008 07:27 PM