Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 08:24 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,104
Default

Thanks Ichi. I haven't swapped routers yet but I still may. The lag has almost all dissapeared, might have been a temporary problem, I'm not sure. But now my biggest complaint is that the voip adaptor stays offline and won't wake up after a net outage. Since December Rogers has gone out twice for many hours, both times i had to power cycle the adaptor to get a dialtone again. I contacted voip.ms support, this is what they said:

1. If your router has a SIP ALG and/or SPI Firewall setting, ensure that it is disabled. That setting is common in D-Link and Netgear routers.
2. Set Register expires to a lower value (300 seconds is recommended)
3. If your device has any options similar to "Nat keep alive" and "Nat mapping" please enable them. This will make the connection not go idle.
4. Finally, verify if you have the latest firmware updated on the device, reboot and re-test.

I confirmed #2 & 3 last night and it's still working fine today. How risky is it if that SPI Firewall is disabled? I can see that setting in the router and it was enabled by default.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2014, 02:52 PM
TheRealAndyCook's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Default

I use voip.ms with little to no hesitation I would recommend it.

HOWEVER. I have already had a SPA112 die on me due to internal issues - not software.
I also use a nortel 1120e with avaya firmware and haven't had an issue, and on android use the integrated sip protocol which seems to be more stable then a normal cell based call.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2015, 09:59 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 1,104
Default

With the Canadian dollar sinking the voip.ms deal is not as good anymore, plus they refuse to bill Canadian customers in our own currency, so screw them. Any other providers you guys can recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2015, 03:45 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,060
Default

another point with VOIP when power goes out, so does your phone. you need a UPS on modem's and phone's to have service when a blackout happens
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2015, 04:44 PM
TheRealAndyCook's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 37
Default

Most people use cordless phones which also do not function when the power is cut.
For those customers the line is not usable because they dont have a wired phone or must people neglect to realize the issue is with the cordless and don't check the old wired phone in the basement.

Cable based internet also has the limitation of its internal UPS of about 4-8 hours. And, in rare cases even copper based lines will go down when power is cut for an extended period of time or over a wide area.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2015, 05:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,938

My System Specs

Default

I've been using ooma with no issues.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile internet providers... and off a WWAN card? clone63 Mobile Computing 9 March 7, 2012 09:43 AM
D3 Cable Modems and major providers? Sagath Networking 13 December 12, 2011 05:00 PM
Can you educate me about integrated video? Denis54 Video Cards 7 August 3, 2010 05:12 PM
Educate ME!!! Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 28, 2009 01:34 PM
Alternative Internet Providers in the Mississauga area. Dashock Off Topic 8 June 3, 2008 03:30 AM