Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 06:47 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 985

My System Specs

Default

I prefer AsusWRT Merlin builds for RT-N66U and RT-AC66U

He has one available for the AC68U:
[RT-AC68U] A dose of Quicksilver - SmallNetBuilder Forums
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 01:07 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

Awesome guys thanks! Will consider this if I keep the router...Newegg is shipping me a new Netgear Nighthawk...maybe I'll keep both and use one as a range extender.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 03:30 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I have it's younger non-AC sibling the RT-N66U
I just ordered 6 of these to blanket 3 warehouses in wifi after reading the reviews.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 04:05 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

Actually a new firmware (306) was released a few days ago...thats two in the short time I had it. Just applied it. Some memory management and 2.4 performance issues supposed to be fixed.

DDwRT and Merlin's firmware seem to be the only two available. I would prefer something more mature from the modding community first (unless there is a killer feature I'm missing, or even added stability).
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2013, 05:04 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Default

You'd go for the ASUS RT-AC66U if your budget allows, best damn router I've ever owned. And it should be for almost $200. ASUS RT, with a new standard: 802.11ac. The main features of this ASUS RT-AC66U IS its great wireless speeds, reaching up to 1.3Gbps in the 5GHz band and up to 450Mbps in the 2.4GHz one. Itís dual band

Last edited by Bray; November 2, 2013 at 06:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2013, 07:22 AM
turtletrax's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Not in PPC's pocket.
Posts: 538

My System Specs

Default

Spent my first few days with the RT-AC68U and it is pretty deadly. Beamforming works like a charm. Go to an area of the house and have less than half reception and a few seconds later goes to full bars and stays there.

Easy setup and looks quite nice and feels really well built compared to the stuff I have had previously. Expensive, but seems like it is worth it.
__________________
"The thing about internet quotes is you can not confirm their validity." - Abraham Lincoln.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2013, 10:17 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ I ordered my AC680U about 8 days ago (NCIX), still waiting.......quick question guys, is the shipped FW alright, or is it necessary to update it? Curious as that is not my forte, as I have never updated FW on a Router.
I'm presently using a 2 yr old Linsys...WRT 310n v2...fairly decent Router, although the range isnt that great, as in my Smart TV is downstairs at the opposite end of the house and I barely get a signal to it, when I stream videos from my upstairs PC it occasionally drops the signal and freezes.
My Speedtest results on my Notebook (Wireless connection) suck, paying for Shaw BB50 and I'm lucky to get 15Mbps.

Hence going for this Router, hoping to speed everything up Wirelessly in my home.

Another quick one guys....I know this is common, but I have to re-boot my router about every few days to get my speeds back up, now Google advised to disable UPnP (Universal Plug n Play), which I did and I'm day 2 without having to reset the router....maybe this is a fix?

Would disabling UPnP effect download speeds for something like Bit Torrent....or speeds on wireless devices? Curious as my Bit torrent download speeds arent very good considering I'm paying for BB50....as in 700Kb/Sec - 1.2 MB/Sec......I did see 3.5 MB/Sec once bu for the most part its pretty consistent 700 KB/Sec - 1 MB/Sec....for what its worth downloading from Steam screams at close to 6 MB/Sec (which I should be getting with BB50).

Thanks for any insight....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.

Last edited by rjbarker; December 10, 2013 at 11:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2013, 01:02 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

I would update the firmware, especially on hardware as immature as this router.

Two methods to update:
1. Within the admin area of the router, tehre is a 'check update' or similar button. Run that first.
2. Manually download the firmware update, extract the update from the zip file, and update manually. This option is also found in the administrator section of the router.

I have this router now, but am using the Netgear nighthawk instead (I'll use the Asus as a network extender). When I first got the Asus, I use method #1 and it found no update, despite the fact that Asus' site had a download available manually. So I downloaded the file and did it that way.

I do suggest getting the update first thing, and after you do the update do a factory reset so that your router is starting fresh...sort of like updating a bios of a new mobo...get the update before you tweak the heck out of it.

RJ if you can OC a cpu then this is child's play. If you are thinking of 3rd party firmwares, I would still hold off for a while until someone else finds out all the bugs and brick-causing mistakes.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2013, 05:00 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Yeah okay Chris thanks...I did go to the Asus Site today and downloaded the latest FW. I also downloaded the Manual and looks like updating FW is exactly as you described ;)

Just want my Router now, ordered it 2 weeks ago and still nothing, been showing as in stock at the Egg for a number of day now......NCIX is fubar after a Black Friday sale... ;) I knew I shoul have gone with Newegg!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2013, 05:14 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

Brutal RJ. If you were local I'd give you mine and let ya swap/keep whatever.

Not surprised you were already on this FW update.

If you want do do some reading on this router while you are waiting, check out this subforum: ASUS AC Routers & Adapters - SmallNetBuilder Forums

Lots of discussion on latest updates, 3rd party firmware statuses, etc.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Wireless Router (Asus AC or N prefered) drkCrix Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 4, 2013 06:51 PM
plug a router to another router? ShinraCorp Networking 11 June 14, 2013 11:25 AM
ASUS rt-ac66u router cmak Member Reviews 2 October 8, 2012 10:06 PM
telus optik modem/router to router CTA Networking 0 January 9, 2011 05:38 PM