Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2007, 05:38 PM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

d-link 4 port switch connecting a laptop and two desktops.

I win with lamest network ever.
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2008, 01:15 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

actually the lamest network would be 1 crossover cable connecting 2 pc's in an ad-hoc environment but your's is a close second
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 02:43 AM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

i have an old netgear rp614 router and an older netgear switch hooked up to: 2 xboxes, an xbox 360 (with room/screens for 3 more) and 3 pcs (2x p4 3ghz and one e6850). all in all, there are probably over 100 ft of ethernet cable in here

i have a linksys wireless router here but i live in an apartment so im going to stay away from wireless for now. this place is a wireless nightmare... with the psp i can get online with 3 different networks, and can 'see' about 5 more that are password protected, all without getting up from my desk. i wouldnt even want to think about troubleshooting and performance here, with all the other wireless around (and in-accessible) it could be nightmare after ing nightmare...

all this is connected to the outside world via shaw extreme 10mbit connection (which has never topped 7 mbits lol).
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 05:59 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t0m View Post
i have a linksys wireless router here but i live in an apartment so im going to stay away from wireless for now. this place is a wireless nightmare... with the psp i can get online with 3 different networks, and can 'see' about 5 more that are password protected, all without getting up from my desk. i wouldnt even want to think about troubleshooting and performance here, with all the other wireless around (and in-accessible) it could be nightmare after ing nightmare...
Set up a wireless network in the following fashion:

1. Don't broadcast your SSID
2. Use WPA (or WPA2 by getting the windows update, if your router supports it)
3. Choose appropriate passwords
4. Use MAC filtering for access

With those 4 steps, you'll be somewhat invisible and pretty damn safe, especially with all the open networks around you.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 06:07 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
actually the lamest network would be 1 crossover cable connecting 2 pc's in an ad-hoc environment but your's is a close second
Heh.... I had that..... :)

Originally running 95 (Pretty sure I tried with 3.11) but that was a networking nightmare until `98 came along and made life a hell of a lot easier.

I even tried one of the early power connector rigs. Still have it here, but the bandwidth was atrocious!!! :)

Neatest "network" application was an early flying game that let me plug two Radio Shack Cocos back to back and fly against the other player. Might not sound like much, but back in the late 80's that was unheard of! :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 06:23 AM
t0m's Avatar
t0m t0m is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bc
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synth View Post
Set up a wireless network in the following fashion:

1. Don't broadcast your SSID
2. Use WPA (or WPA2 by getting the windows update, if your router supports it)
3. Choose appropriate passwords
4. Use MAC filtering for access

With those 4 steps, you'll be somewhat invisible and pretty damn safe, especially with all the open networks around you.
good tips
__________________
nothing left and nothing right
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2008, 11:44 AM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 200

My System Specs

Default

Videotron VOIP/Router
Check Point Safe@Office500
Linksys WRT300N

House is wired with CAT5E to all major rooms. (should have done CAT6 in retrospect).

I have a Check Point Safe@Office 500 wired router/firewall off my Videotron Cable/VOIP modem.

Then a Linksys WRT300N router with the SPI disabled off that, running WPA2 for wireless connections.

I had a SonicWall SOHO2 router but it died recently. It was good while it lasted. Before that I tried a D-link 604 (garbage) and a WRT54G Linksys running DD-WRT. They just can't handle the traffic that uTorrent generates though. I had to go industrial, my Secure Connections from work to home using RealVNC were suffering during the day and my media sharing to my 2 XBMC Xboxes was glitching at night.

I even tried to use the WRT300N as the main router but the minute I had one or two torrents going I had to resort to tuning the QoS to get any decent browsing speed and to top it off the WRT300N they sell at Bureau En Gros (Staples) is a v1.1 which DD-WRT doesn't support. Even if I did get it to run DD-WRT it didn't help with the loads on my old 54G.

It's surprising how underpowered these home routers are. They work fine for a few internet connections and low TCP connnect downloading but let loose a few 1000 TCP torrent connections and they die.

My advice to anyone in a similar situation: Get a second hand SonicWall, Watchguard (linux based) or Check Point on eBAY. Approxmate cost $100. Results, speedy browsing, gaming and media serving while download/sharing torrents.

Before anyone pounces on me about the legalities of torrents, I'm DL'ing my tv shows, demos and Linux ditribs. So at worst it's grey. There are legal uses for torrents too.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2008, 12:50 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i wouldn't count netgears prosafe line out either. I have a netgear router and AP now and both are rock solid :) and are alot cheaper then a new sonicwall :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2008, 01:18 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Some Linksys 4 port router with 2 PCs and a laptop wired to it. Does the job
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2008, 02:33 PM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 200

My System Specs

Default

Thund3rball: yeah a linksys will do fine for most but try installing uTorrent then adding about 5 or 6 350MB torrents and changing your settings to allow 600 connections total with about 100 per torrent. You'll notice visible degradation in your browsing. On the Dlink 604+ you'll get spontaneous reboots.

lcdguy: Thanks for putting me on to those netgear's they appear to be robust enough and at about 1/3 the cost. The Check Point is $300 wired and has about 100Mbps throughput firewall and 20Mbps VPN, while the netgear is only 12.5Mbps firewall and 1.2Mbps VPN it would probably make no difference since I have 7Mbps/820Kbps internet connection. At $100 it's a good deal. Luckily for me the Check Point was acquired by my company in a buyout and is too small for our purposes. The smallest we use are the $1200 UTM-1 X series so my boss let me "borrow" this one as long as I work for them.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Wireless Network Setup Supergrover Guides & How-to's 13 December 24, 2013 01:00 AM
Vista --> XP Network Issue Thund3rball Networking 6 March 5, 2008 05:14 PM
Network n00b help Matty D Networking 10 December 28, 2007 02:15 PM
Router loosing Network connection? 3.0charlie Networking 1 October 9, 2007 07:07 AM
Friend(ly) Network Mysteryous Networking 16 September 13, 2007 06:36 AM