Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 11:42 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p3t3rson View Post
Thanks Lowfat, now I get it.

Lowfat, excluding the price factor, would you ever run Windows Server Essentials 2012
No idea as I've never used it or any Windows Server before. I paid $15 for Windows 8. Can't seeing myself paying for Server.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2013, 04:30 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

Thinking about taking my network to the next level. I can get a pair of dual 10Gbps Infiniband adapters + 2 cables for about $250. I should be able to in theory get 2GB/s over the network.
Don't suppose anyone here has used Inifiniband before?

EDIT: Went and ordered a pair of Mellanox MHGA28-XTC 2x20Gbps HCAs and 2 cables. In theory I should have a 40Gbps network.

Last edited by lowfat; May 18, 2013 at 06:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2013, 09:08 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

I'm very interested in your results
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 06:02 AM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

I too am very interested in your outcome. Will you need to change your switch?

Last edited by p3t3rson; May 20, 2013 at 06:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2013, 07:10 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p3t3rson View Post
I too am very interested in your outcome. Will you need to change your switch?
This will run just between two computers. An Infiniband switch would cost like $2k at the least. I will still use ethernet along side the Infiniband.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2013, 08:41 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

Finally had two machines working to test this out. Infiniband probably isn't all that great for budget use. The older cards can't use SRP or RDMA in Windows so I am forced to use their Infiniband over IP implementation, which isn't all that good. Can't really do more than 400MB/s, which is kind of disappointing.



EDIT: @p3t3rson I've tried using Server 2012 R2 Essentials for the past few days and honestly can't see it being beneficial at all to a home user. I'll be sticking w/ my $15 copy of Win 8.

EDIT2: I moved Borderlands 2 over to one of the networked SSDs and it loaded relatively quick.

EDIT3: Created an iSCSI target w/ Starwind. Probably the best I'll get out of it.



EDIT4: Slight improvement.

Last edited by lowfat; July 28, 2013 at 09:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2013, 07:33 AM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

My question is how did you pay 15$ for Windows 8? :P Even the student copy is 60$...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2013, 08:22 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinraCorp View Post
My question is how did you pay 15$ for Windows 8? :P Even the student copy is 60$...
When it first came out they had a deal for $15. Bought two copies. Also bought Office 2013 for $10.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2013, 09:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

And where did you buy Office 2013 for that cheap from?
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2013, 09:19 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
And where did you buy Office 2013 for that cheap from?
From MS.

Microsoft Office 2013 Professional Plus is just $10 for qualified email addresses | ITworld
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaking Down NVIDIA’s Tegra 4 SKYMTL Mobile Computing 0 February 26, 2013 10:39 AM
Breaking Bad! w0z Off Topic 8 July 3, 2012 08:47 PM
Google rolling out 1Gbps ISP service BrianHanna Press Releases & Tech News 1 February 10, 2010 11:49 AM
Overclockersclub.com breaking IE? sswilson Off Topic 9 September 21, 2009 09:35 PM
Breaking News! Rv770 Is On Its Way!! vertex112 Press Releases & Tech News 1 March 5, 2008 11:33 AM