Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2013, 07:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default Does pfsense require a dedicated machine

I'm planning on using pfsense for a wisp I'm setting up and don't know mush about what I'm getting into yet concerning the software I'm going to use but it appears that pfsense will become the operating system for the machine.

For example I run apache on a linx box for my web server but I can still use the machine for other things while the web server runs in the background.

But the install instructions for pfsense talk about formatting the drive or losing everything on it once it is installed.

Any advice out there?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2013, 07:25 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Honestly, if you don't know much about linux it would be best you do a lot of researching before you even attempt to setup a wisp. But to answer your question pfsense can be run in a virtual machine and it will act just like a physical machine running it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2013, 08:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I use linx to run my web servers what I don't understand is pfsense runs, it doesn't look as if it run as a program but that it is an OS and a program. For example I can run my webserver in the background and run other programs at the same time.

It look as if I install pfsense on the hard drive then the machine will only be running pfsense. Is this correct or am I missing something?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2013, 08:47 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Correct. Pfsense is a linux distro based off of FreeBSD. It in theory could be used to browse the web and other applications, but it's really only designed for networking and shouldn't be used as anything other than a server.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2013, 09:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks, now if I'm running a computer with pfsense can I install freeradius on the same box that is running the pfsense as the OS or do I need to run that on a box running linux?

Thanks for the help, just trying to get my head around this stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2013, 09:27 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

You can install any linux application on pfsense. Just be aware that you'll most likely have to compile it yourself, pfsense doesn't have a package manager as far as I'm aware.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2013, 11:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

so running freeradius on a pfsense box will take care of most of my wisp software needs would you say, mybe after that a redirect program to a login page.

ofcourse after configuring everything.

what else would you guys think i would need?

thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2013, 10:52 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

There are quite a few pre-built packages for pfSense which should cover anything you want to do.

FreeRadius being one of them for that matter, along with Squid (proxy) and many more.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2013, 09:23 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 682

My System Specs

Default

Typically you don't install anything else on the pfsense box. It has many packages available which you can activate to increase functionality. I run pfsense as my home router in a vm, with two dedicated nics (wan/lan). Might be worth it to do that, then have vm's for whatever else you want.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2013, 02:40 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Correct. Pfsense is a linux distro based off of FreeBSD. It in theory could be used to browse the web and other applications, but it's really only designed for networking and shouldn't be used as anything other than a server.
pfsense is NOT a Linux distribution. It is a dedicated firewall install based on FreeBSD (via m0n0wall). It is not host based (ie it runs on the machine it's protecting) and like most dedicated firewalls, it should be run on it's own hardware for optimum efficiency and security. As has been noted, it can be run in a virtual machine alongside other operating systems on one machine.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pfsense in a virtual machine lowfat Networking 16 November 13, 2012 07:06 AM
6 GPU folding computer/need help with dedicated folding machine Silent_Avenger New Builds 11 December 25, 2011 01:17 PM
Cheap dedicated F@H machine. Silent_Avenger New Builds 3 November 22, 2011 12:26 PM
Linux install for dedicated folding machine lowfat HardwareCanucks F@H Team 20 February 26, 2011 10:22 AM
Building a dedicated Folding machine Gav HardwareCanucks F@H Team 38 August 27, 2007 10:35 AM