Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2013, 05:55 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,070

My System Specs

Default Wireless setup

Hey everyone. I was wandering around Costco today and decided to try a new router. My old one is a DIR-615, which I have no problems with, but my xbox 360 is up a floor and on the opposite side of the house and occasionally looses connection with netflix. I grabbed a e4500v2 and have now set it up with no issue (very easy).

When setting it up I realized I had very little knowledge on the actual settings in a router, so I thought I would pose a few questions:

1. Do you use 20 or 40mhz on your own routers?
2. Mine defaulted to mixed mode on both 2.4 and 5ghz bands with WPA/WPA2 selected. When I tried to deselect mixed mode it said I would need to change from WPA/WPA2 to something else to do so. Do you run mixed mode? Is there any performance to gain by being in N, vice mixed?
3. Do you use WPA, or a different standard?

FYI I believe everything in my house is 2.4ghz. 2xiphone 4, and 1 laptop, except my xbox 360 (which has a dual band antenna). Desktop is wired.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2013, 07:54 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 822

My System Specs

Default

i use

20 mhz
wireless N only
WPA2/AES (no TKIP)
auto chan off (1, 6, or 11)
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2013, 11:23 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,909
Default

What grinder said and you can also scan the different wireless networks that are around your house to see which channel is better to use.
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2013, 12:46 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,070

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the points.

Any other suggestions/opinions?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2013, 07:52 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 52
Default

1. Do you use 20 or 40mhz on your own routers?
Never really played around with this.

2. Mine defaulted to mixed mode on both 2.4 and 5ghz bands with WPA/WPA2 selected. When I tried to deselect mixed mode it said I would need to change from WPA/WPA2 to something else to do so. Do you run mixed mode? Is there any performance to gain by being in N, vice mixed?

I personally have separate APs for each speed. AC>N>G>B>A in terms of performance. If you use mixed mode then your wireless router bumps all devices connected down to the speed of the lowest device. So a single device connecting at B causes your entire network to slow to a crawl at 11Mbs (this is why i have different wireless points). Also, 2.4Ghz is incredibly congested - use 5GHz where possible. Most devices dont support this however unless they have dual antennas.

3. Do you use WPA, or a different standard?

Try to stay away from WPA. Go with WPA2 if possible Avoid WEP like the plague!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 12:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Wpa2 is the one that is recommended for security. The others have already been cracked. 2.4 gigs is the standard wireless frequency but if your devices can work on 5 gigs then that would be better cause there is less congestion and interference.

Use only g or n setting, n being the newest and better one, the others are outdated, unless your computers are old and can't handel those and need a or b.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 09:29 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

- Use N only mode, unless you have some devices that are only G
- Use 40Mhz, unless you have some devices that won't connect. It allows for higher wireless bandwidth.
- Use WPA2 AES. The most secure.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2013, 10:10 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
- Use 40Mhz, unless you have some devices that won't connect. It allows for higher wireless bandwidth.
It's kind of obnoxious when you live in an apartment complex with a load of other tech savvy people, then you end up with a dozen other networks using 40 MHz on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands, and there's no channel you can use without overlapping at least five other networks...

Not really avoidable though, unless you could coordinate the entire building to everyone using different 20 MHz channels from their neighbors in each direction.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2013, 08:23 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 515

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
It's kind of obnoxious when you live in an apartment complex with a load of other tech savvy people, then you end up with a dozen other networks using 40 MHz on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands, and there's no channel you can use without overlapping at least five other networks...

Not really avoidable though, unless you could coordinate the entire building to everyone using different 20 MHz channels from their neighbors in each direction.
Well you could all just talk to each other and agree who uses 5.0 GHz and who uses 2.4 GHz :P That way everyone is happy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Wireless Network Setup Supergrover Guides & How-to's 13 December 24, 2013 02:00 AM
Static IP's from ISP and Wireless Setup - Help GameOnTurtle Networking 14 September 4, 2010 10:41 AM
Wireless access point setup Evylldemon Networking 16 July 23, 2009 07:31 PM
Wireless Setup Chos3n Networking 16 May 27, 2009 06:39 AM
Wireless Monitor setup. chibi_man Display Units 10 December 13, 2007 10:45 AM