Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 09:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Question weird cloud

Hi !
i've recently got a 10GB free online storage with Bitcasa (cloud?), that i can access from almost any of my devices, but there is something weird when i upload a "big" (~2GB) file to bitcasa :
I can see the standard transfer window appearing in Windows (the same as when you transfer something to your USB drive, with the green progression bar..) But when it's done, i can see Bitcasa is actually still working and upoading the file !
So... what's happening ? My guess would be the file copy itself to a sort of cache (?), and then, upload it to the network... ? I've seen in the Bitcasa settings i have 1 GB of cache... what does that means exactly ?
And for big files, should i increase or decrease that value ?
btw, i upgraded my laptop to 8GB of RAM, is there any way i can use the RAM as cache ?? (it never goes above 2GB of use...)

Thanks, i've tried to be a precise as possible...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 10:26 AM
tangrisser's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 163
Default

Apparently Bitcasa 'emulates' being on a hard drive so the much of the data is actually only being cached to the designated location rather than being uploaded right away. The correct number to watch for is the upload bar within Bitcasa and not the Windows progress bar. Rather controversial topic.
__________________
Check out my SALE page
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 04:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

@tangrisser what do you mean by controversial ? And so ok, there's something about the cache, so can i use part of my RAM memory as cache ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2013, 07:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,955

My System Specs

Default

That's just how all these services work, be it Dropbox, Box, Skydrive, etc.

It's stored on your local hard drive and then it's uploaded to "the cloud" in the background. This obviously is dependent upon how fast of an upload speed your Internet service provides.

There's nothing you can do on your computer to make it go any faster. The only thing you can do is upgrade your Internet service to something that provides you with a higher upload speed.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
cache , cloud , network , upload

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best WS for Adobe Creative Cloud botat29 New Builds 5 February 12, 2013 04:09 PM
LG Releases Cloud Monitors Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 7, 2012 04:09 PM
Cloud Computing questions Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 February 3, 2012 10:25 AM
What Tubing Do You Use? Did it Cloud? Sadasius Water Cooling 62 June 26, 2009 04:32 PM
Cloud Rendering Cranky Gaming 4 June 18, 2009 06:59 PM