Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2012, 08:43 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,667

My System Specs

Default

That's a great router, been using one for over a year. Uptime is over 9 months, and still going. Wireless signal is strong too. And to answer your question, your devices must have a 5GHz-compliant wireless network card in order to receive the 5GHz signal.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 10:08 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys so far I am really happy with this router. The signal is indeed strong. It fixed the issues I was having with my PS3 disconnecting. However I learned that my phones, tablet and PS3 do not support 5GHz wifi but my 6 year old Dell laptop does? I find it odd that a brand new tablet and 1 year old phone do not support it. :\

I have another question regarding signal strength. When looking at the signals on my laptop and TV, the 5GHz does not get as many bars as the 2.4GHz. I get full bars on 2.4GHz but only 3-4 out of 5 on 5GHz. Is this normal?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 10:53 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,660
Default

5ghz is really quite useless for phones and such because the only time 5ghz is worth it is when transferring files across a network.

there is a reason why 5ghz isn,t common
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 11:21 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

My 5gHz cordless phones work quite well - and in a house with reinforced concrete exterior walls and floor.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2012, 09:08 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

I was stuck between the Asus RT-N16 and the E4200 V1 from Linksys/Cisco. V1 because it supports Tomato and DD WRT. Both had really good reviews, but I finally decided on the E4200. It's one of the higher end routers from Linksys and was 50 bucks off on boxing week. Tell you guys how it goes when I set it up tonight.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 03:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
dlink is an absolute garbage brand
linksys went to the shitter when cisco got involved
netgear? won't bother
I always found dlink to be of great quality, also asus has gotten much better.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 03:51 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,660
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da)2kside View Post
I always found dlink to be of great quality, also asus has gotten much better.
Dude don't waste forum bandwidth. Anyone will tell you how crappy Dlink is.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 04:05 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,048

My System Specs

Default

Well, generally speaking when someone comes online and says they're having trouble with networking equipment 90% of the time it's a Dlink product.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2013, 08:13 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Things are going great with my new router. Really happy with it. I have my Samsung Smart TV on the 5GHz SSID and I am able to stream 1080p movies over it using Plex. Wow I can't believe it! With my PS3 I can barely stream SD quality without stuttering but using Plex and my 5GHz SSID I am watching 1080p with no stutters!

Anyone used Plex before? It is still in beta it seems, and I gotta say getting it to recognize new content is a bit inconsistent but considering it is free and allows me to watch 1080 over wifi I am not going to complain too much. It also has apps available for mobile devices and a service where you can watch your content from anywhere. Haven't tried that yet as the mobile apps are not free and I am not sure I need such a service either right now.

All in all I am a happy camper for now.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2013, 02:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 154
Default

Why didn't you try the WRT54G with Tomato firmware? It might have been a bit better than stock, at least.

I don't think the N56U is that great a choice...at least, imho. There aren't as many options. The N66U allows for use with the alternative firmwares. Sure, you might just use stock but at least there are options and most stock firmware is not just limited, it's usually not very good.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
telus optik modem/router to router CTA Networking 0 January 9, 2011 06:38 PM
Need new router Goalieman077 Networking 4 January 1, 2010 10:14 PM
Need a new router biff Networking 12 December 18, 2009 03:43 PM
New Router :) WolfBane Networking 11 July 22, 2009 10:39 AM
Need a New Router Zmanno999 Networking 12 June 16, 2009 03:39 AM