Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2012, 11:54 AM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
Shielded cable and duct rated. Much faster than powerline.
Disable wirless on SMC if its the same one I baught from Rogers and run something better like the ASUS RT-N 16 I got a wile back.

How do I look for Ethernet cables which are shielded and duct rated? Are they a different CAT or somehow else categorized as being rated for that?
__________________
Computer: i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Asus P8P67 Evo | Corsair LP 16gb 1600CL9 | Silver Arrow | Essence STX | Crucial m4 128gb | Silverstone Raven 3|

Video: 2x R9 290 @ 1050 / 1375 | ASUS VG248QE |

Audio: STX => Audioengine A5 / audio technica AD700X
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2012, 01:56 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,090

My System Specs

Default

Duct rated cable is actually called plenum cabling. It's the same CAT5, 5E, or 6 but has a different exterior that's heat rated. Most riser cable is only rated to 60 degrees C, which you could exceed inside a furnace duct close to your furnace.

You can get shielded and unshielded. My local electrical distributor is selling CAT5E riser for $79 per 1000' box, and unshielded Plenum for $185/box.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2012, 04:27 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

haha, LinHaw is at least double the price
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless bridge for desktop LC0g Networking 3 October 6, 2012 12:15 PM
Wait or Ivy Bridge? Or Bite the Sandy Bridge? geokilla CPU's and Motherboards 14 April 11, 2012 10:37 AM
sandy bridge E or wait for ivy bridge for 1155 gingerbee Off Topic 4 February 1, 2012 08:07 PM
How to use Laptop as a Wireless Networking Bridge? Digikid Networking 8 May 8, 2010 01:14 AM
Bought 2 Linksys WRT54GL'S to connect wireless bridge Dashock Networking 2 December 30, 2009 08:13 PM