Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2012, 06:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default Linksys / Cisco Smart Wi-Fi?

Does anybody have experience with this new set of features?

Linksys Smart Wi-Fi

Just got an email from linksys suggesting that I do a firmware update (initiated by a hyperlink from the email no less..... ;) ) for my model of router. Now that I've verified that I can access the same information through the cisco website (and thus isn't something that's going to install nasty stuff onto my router) it's got me curious. Anybody play with it yet? (I'm thinking about doing it anywise since I never got around to putting tomato onto it in the first place and maybe this firmware update resolves the issues I've been having.)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2012, 08:30 PM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

I only have experience with the Enterprise toolset on their (Cisco's) Security appliances... Not sure if they are the same. Anything specific you are looking at?
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2012, 06:05 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Isn't this just a re-brand of their initial try? They basically gain full control of your router and can block access to certain websites along with monitoring all your internet usage.

I surely wouldn't opt to install it if they still have those "features".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2012, 06:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Isn't this just a re-brand of their initial try? They basically gain full control of your router and can block access to certain websites along with monitoring all your internet usage.

I surely wouldn't opt to install it if they still have those "features".
I wasn't aware of the issue(s) with their "initial try", a quick look suggested that these features are standard on their current line of routers and that the firmware update would bring my older E3000 up to the new(er) standard.

I certainly have no interest in cloud computing, but might be convinced that being able to access some of my files from a public account might be useful from time to time. It also looks like they've got some form of scheme to allow remote access to vid cam shots as well.

Guess I'll have to do some more research.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2012, 04:45 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

I believe it was called "Cisco Connect Cloud". Basically it removes local access to your router and you must access it through the Cisco website over the Internet. They also came down pretty hard and were blocking/filtering "unsafe" websites along with keeping tabs on every website you visited.

I truly hope they solved these privacy concerns, but the fact is, you are letting Cisco have web-access to your router. God only knows what they can do. My router is the last thing I want to be accessible from the Internet.

I know people are weary of using Gmail for that matter, this is 10x worse IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2013, 06:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I believe it was called "Cisco Connect Cloud". Basically it removes local access to your router and you must access it through the Cisco website over the Internet. They also came down pretty hard and were blocking/filtering "unsafe" websites along with keeping tabs on every website you visited.

I truly hope they solved these privacy concerns, but the fact is, you are letting Cisco have web-access to your router. God only knows what they can do. My router is the last thing I want to be accessible from the Internet.

I know people are weary of using Gmail for that matter, this is 10x worse IMO.
I just installed a router with "Linksys Smart-Wifi" and I am also concerned about Cisco's web-access to my router. Sure there are advantages to being able to manage my network remotely or from my smart phone, but I am concerned about security issues. It's been a while since this thread started, and I am interested in finding out about the experiences of other members.
Cheers.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cisco 4-port network card in Win7 moocow Networking 2 July 14, 2012 08:15 PM
Cisco Valet M10 v2.0 -- DD-WRT The Quicken Networking 0 November 6, 2011 04:53 PM
[FS] Cisco PCMIA Wireless/WiFi 802.11a/b/g Cardbus Adapter cyberspyder Buy/Sell & Trade 8 January 20, 2010 05:44 AM
[FS] FREE Old Cisco stuff Dazmode Buy/Sell & Trade 0 September 6, 2009 11:12 AM