Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 05:15 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Question How to set Firefox to display this page?

While fiddling with the network settings, I come accross this page:
http://kmeleon.sourceforge.net/forum/read.php?1,104959

And there are two links to test the browser settings in the real life - first this little page tells about the number of connections per server the browser use: Test Parallel connections

And second and more importantly, THIS page refuse to load all images: Max Connections
No matter how I try to play with the settings.

In about:config I enter "network" and tweak these (Firefox 3.0.14):
network.http.max-connections;64
network.http.max-connections-per-server;12
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy;8
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server;6
network.http.pipelining;false
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests;8
network.http.request.max-start-delay;0

Max Connections
103 images shown (hell, that was hard counting)
77 images now shown (180 total then are on page...)

Test Parallel connections
Your browser seems to use 6 simultaneous connections to this server.

So it looks like the number or persistent connections are important, so I bumped it a little for my 20MBi cable to 12:
network.http.max-connections;64
network.http.max-connections-per-server;12
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy;12
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server;12
network.http.pipelining;true
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests;8
network.http.request.max-start-delay;0

...and hence it fluctuate ( Test Parallel connections ) between 11 and 12. So far so good, but nothing convinced this page: Max Connections to load all the damn images and not to mention in adequate time.

Page load time: 8951 ms - this is a joke and futhermore, most of the images are NOT SHOWN!





Pls help and suggestions welcome. I already had optimized the TCP connection using the TCPOptimizer 2.0.3 ( Download TCPOptimizer.zip from Sendspace.com - send big files the easy way ) suggestions to suit my connection best...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 05:51 AM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

my Page load time 3923 ms but I might have loaded 28 images a lot less then yours and I am using Chrome ATM ..

If you are using 64 bit version of windows you my be interested in waterfox I was going to give it a try but I am already having issues with FF but I am going to give it a try once I redo my OS install
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 06:41 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Default

No, I using a old Windows 2000 SP4 and Firefox 3.0.14 :) No insterest in Chrome, 64bit OS and stuff on:
PC duron
Windows 2000 SP4 Czech
Jetway V266B
Barton 2800+ @ 2200+ (150x12.5) 1.625Vcore
1024MB DDRAM 2-2-2-5
200G Seagate 8MB cache (ST3200822A)
GF2 MX400 32MB 175/265
17" BenQ FP75G 1280x1024 60Hz
DVDRW NEC DV-4551A
ATA133 IDE drawer
floppy with 7+1 USB2 reader Mitsumi FA404
OkiPage 14ex laser printer
NetGear fireWall/WiFi 54MBi WGR614

;)

PS. 28 images is a damn shame, I got 103 and I'm mad as hell and compaining a lot that I did not get all of them!
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 07:27 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

I got more images to load but load time skyrocketed due to delay of trying to contact the hosts and taking so long.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 10:29 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

All images loaded in 106ms (on dialup at this location at the moment), Max 8 conenctions. FF 3.6.28 XPProSP3
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 01:54 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

is this for fun or actual performance reasons?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 02:04 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trodas View Post
While fiddling with the network settings, I come accross this page:
http://kmeleon.sourceforge.net/forum/read.php?1,104959

And there are two links to test the browser settings in the real life - first this little page tells about the number of connections per server the browser use: Test Parallel connections

And second and more importantly, THIS page refuse to load all images: Max Connections
No matter how I try to play with the settings.

In about:config I enter "network" and tweak these (Firefox 3.0.14):
network.http.max-connections;64
network.http.max-connections-per-server;12
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy;8
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server;6
network.http.pipelining;false
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests;8
network.http.request.max-start-delay;0

Max Connections
103 images shown (hell, that was hard counting)
77 images now shown (180 total then are on page...)

Test Parallel connections
Your browser seems to use 6 simultaneous connections to this server.

So it looks like the number or persistent connections are important, so I bumped it a little for my 20MBi cable to 12:
network.http.max-connections;64
network.http.max-connections-per-server;12
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy;12
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server;12
network.http.pipelining;true
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests;8
network.http.request.max-start-delay;0

...and hence it fluctuate ( Test Parallel connections ) between 11 and 12. So far so good, but nothing convinced this page: Max Connections to load all the damn images and not to mention in adequate time.

Page load time: 8951 ms - this is a joke and futhermore, most of the images are NOT SHOWN!





Pls help and suggestions welcome. I already had optimized the TCP connection using the TCPOptimizer 2.0.3 ( Download TCPOptimizer.zip from Sendspace.com - send big files the easy way ) suggestions to suit my connection best...
I am not sure if you can use use tcp optimizer to change settings in new OSs
another thing also is when you are doing those tests and making adjustments make sure that any extensions and or plugins are off becasue they affect the way your web browser runs
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 11:14 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Wink

Settings:
Code:
network.http.max-connections;30
network.http.max-connections-per-server;10
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy;8
network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server;6
network.http.pipelining;false
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests;4
network.http.request.max-start-delay;0
Give me after 13825 ms ALL THE IMAGES! :D



Hooray!



enaberif - I think the time can skyrocket also because of bad settings that cause the browser to jam by sending useless requests... Check NyteOwl results :)


NyteOwl - dial up is probably best with 8 connections :) I got all with 30 and will try higher :)


Generic User #2 -
Quote:
is this for fun or actual performance reasons?
Both. Fun to tweak and learn something new and of course - to get every bit of performance I can! Or you think I can use other sites to test?


Shadowmeph -
Quote:
I am not sure if you can use use tcp optimizer to change settings in new OSs
Not the old one, but they have on the SpeedGuide.net a v3x that works with Win7 and such. So yes. You can and you should.

Quote:
another thing also is when you are doing those tests and making adjustments make sure that any extensions and or plugins are off becasue they affect the way your web browser runs
Hmmm.
about:plugins - show ONLY Mozilla Default Plug-in AND Shockwave Flash

As of extensions, then I have only Flashblock and Menu Editor. Nothing else. I dubt they can affect pretty much anything. However some settings seems to have a BIG impact on the overal result.
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 11:27 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

you do realize a bigger number is bad right? should be far lower.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2012, 12:00 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
you do realize a bigger number is bad right? should be far lower.
lol I was just thinking the same as for mine I get a number but I dont see all of the images , most likely because I have extensions enabled that block( or try to block) a couple of things
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung Display is Now The World’s Largest Display Manufacturer Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 3, 2012 01:41 AM
ERROR On front page in firefox and explorere 8 ZZLEE Suggestions & Feedback 2 December 28, 2010 01:13 PM
To page file or not to page file gingerbee O/S's, Drivers & General Software 22 November 11, 2009 09:32 PM
Hwc blank page gingerbee Off Topic 10 October 7, 2009 02:01 PM
Firefox wont save page settings muse108dc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 August 13, 2009 09:20 PM