Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 11:09 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default shaw broad band router opinions

I just upgraded my shaw internet which meant I have to install the new shaw router . I really like my asus rtn16 router and I am wondering if it would be better for me to use the shaw router or my asus rtn16 . any thoughts on this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 11:19 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,730

My System Specs

Default

I haven't heard of a decent ISP provided router/modem combo yet. Unless you hear otherwise you're probably better off to put the supplied product into bridge mode and use what you've already got / know.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 11:23 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,549

My System Specs

Default

If shaw allows you to install the modem yourself, call in asap after and request to have bridge mode enabled so you can use your own router. If the tech comes in insist on a modem and not a modem/router combo, if that isnt possible the ask him to enable bridge mode. Their modem router combos are terrible.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 11:34 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

SO I can't just turn on bridge mode myself in the shaw router?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 11:44 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,549

My System Specs

Default

Nope its a shaw side option.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 11:54 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

well that is just stupid. lol thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 12:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

personally I found no real difference between the shaw modem and my rtn16 except that ange is better for my router.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 12:41 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,549

My System Specs

Default

My internet would drop all the time, port forwarding didn't work and wireless sucked.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 12:58 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

well the thing is that my router I flashed it with tomatoe
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2012, 01:09 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,048

My System Specs

Default

Just get the plain old DOCSIS 3 modem with no router, then use yours.

That's exactly what I'm doing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
routers , shaw

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Band-Aid Build Draex New Builds 9 October 21, 2011 12:23 PM
Seagate and Samsung Announce Broad Strategic Alignment FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 29, 2011 04:30 PM
Trendnet TEW-671BR dual band router can't see second network. Pelt Peripherals 1 October 3, 2010 02:01 PM
The Rock Band Thread! Lpfan4ever Gaming 26 January 5, 2010 06:46 PM