Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 09:42 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default Help with home AP/Routers

My parents need more wifi coverage in their house then what they have right now. I will hard wire all AP vs repeating to avoid any issues that might happen with coverage. Its not a square box house and is ~5000sq/f I am currently thinking of adding in 3-4 more access points. They currently have a Linksys E1000 with DD-WRT on it for their router and a commercial grade outdoor AP that I gave them. Their house backbone is a cisco 16 port gigabit managed switch I had kicking around.

The linksys is a solid little router but interference or crappy output on the wifi makes it pretty piss poor for that job. What routers or AP do people suggest for AP repeating? I am happy with the DD-WRT firmware so anything that flashes to that is a bonus or a solid factory firmware.

I know very little of residential routers right now. There seems to be a massive pile of steaming crap out there and if I can avoid that for my own head aches that would make me happy.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 09:46 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Mixture of power line and a couple access points.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 09:48 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,581

My System Specs

Default

My suggestion is to downgrade that house. 5000/sqft is enough to house 5 families of 5

In all serious tho: The 'standard' go-to router is the Asus RT-N16, but I'm not sure its going to fit your 'commercial' grade needs. Lets be honest, 16 port switches, multiple AP/Repeaters...You really should go commercial grade, which is above my level of expertise in choice
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 10:18 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
My suggestion is to downgrade that house. 5000/sqft is enough to house 5 families of 5

In all serious tho: The 'standard' go-to router is the Asus RT-N16, but I'm not sure its going to fit your 'commercial' grade needs. Lets be honest, 16 port switches, multiple AP/Repeaters...You really should go commercial grade, which is above my level of expertise in choice
Its not my house, mine is smaller. Its an investment property, they don't need anything that big ether but they built it to sell at some point. The commercial grade stuff is from pulls or some random reason I had it kicking around. Thanks for the info, I have seen that router name pop up a couple of times just didn't know if something else better had come out.

Does it have decent range on it? that seems to be the biggest issue is radio power seems to be weak on some of these routers.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 11:43 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

2 Asus RT-N16 with Tomato or DD-WRT and upgraded antennas should do the trick, but powerline ethernet might even be better
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 12:45 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

I can get Cat cables everywhere they need them, thats not the issue, hence running a hard wire line to each AP. This is just wifi coverage for all the "toys" that use wifi. Tablets, phones, laptops, etc. right now they are getting hit and miss coverage in their bedroom from the outside AP. The living room is even badly situated for the existing router, there is a big TV and stereo setup right in line with the router.... so maybe 20' to the router the signal is killed. I am just going to plaster the place with wifi access, this router looks pretty decent might get 1 and test it and then get a few more based off of that.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2012, 01:30 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,136

My System Specs

Default

I use an RT-N16 at work with stock firmware, we don't have an issue getting wireless access anywhere in the building.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2012, 07:51 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

Did some testing a week or two ago and these little guys work well. Three of them plus the original router cover off the house and a good chunk of their decking. The 5dbi antennas really do a decent job. +1 for anyone looking a decent AP.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Telus routers chewbroccoli Networking 7 April 17, 2012 08:56 PM
DD-WRT Routers The Quicken Networking 13 August 13, 2011 10:22 AM
corporate routers grinder Networking 5 June 30, 2011 01:28 PM
2 routers on the same network? ADay2Long Networking 4 April 22, 2010 10:07 PM
two DSL routers smajor Networking 3 February 15, 2010 10:46 PM