Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 07:41 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 468
Default 932 ms 662 ms 359 ms 122-61-24-1.jetstream.xtra.co.nz

From August 2nd to the 6th I could play almost 10 games a night without dropping once. And even in the weeks before that...with few to no drops in Company of Heroes. I've had to dig deep to get this games port forwarding working properly as there is a special Nat error thing that happens with these Thomson Modems. I know it isn't the modem or port forwarding settings.

The last 2 nights Aug 7-8th, I can't stay in a game for more than 3 minutes without getting dropped out of the game.

After checking port forwarding and pings ...I checked the tracert - there seems to be rather bad hop of/at number 3 - 932 ms 662 ms 359 ms 122-61-24-1.jetstream.xtra.co.nz [122.61.24.1]. Sometimes it doesn't even get a ping - 3 * * * Request timed out.
The next tracert a few minutes later could be as low as 128ms for hop3. Yet the next tracert I do...it will be 900ms or timeout all together.

Tracing route to google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 69 ms 99 ms 99 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 52 ms 52 ms 52 ms 122-61-24-4.jetstream.xtra.co.nz [122.61.24.4]
3 932 ms 662 ms 359 ms 122-61-24-1.jetstream.xtra.co.nz [122.61.24.1]
4 52 ms 54 ms 53 ms mdr-fid-int.akbr5.global-gateway.net.nz [202.37.
244.222]
5 51 ms 55 ms 52 ms ae4-10.akbr5.global-gateway.net.nz [202.37.244.2
21]
6 52 ms 51 ms 52 ms ae1-2.akbr4.global-gateway.net.nz [202.50.232.77
]
7 76 ms 76 ms 77 ms xe6-0-0.sgbr1.global-gateway.net.nz [202.50.232.
10]
8 76 ms 82 ms 77 ms xe2-0-0-2.sgbr2.global-gateway.net.nz [202.50.23
2.246]
9 76 ms 77 ms 76 ms 202.50.236.110
10 87 ms 77 ms 85 ms 66.249.95.224
11 77 ms 77 ms 77 ms 66.249.95.233
12 77 ms 77 ms 77 ms 72.14.237.21
13 77 ms 76 ms 75 ms google-public-dns-a.google.com [8.8.8.8]

Unfortunately I am not very well versed in this area of internet connection and perhaps there is nothing wrong or perhaps something is several wrong and or broken at hop 3.

But I am pretty sure this could certainly mess my online gaming. I want to know before I go straighten this out over at geekzone and telecom...if indeed something is broken?

So if some of you internet connection guru's could tell me....much appreciated!

Is this 3rd hop potentially causing me grief in my online gaming? Should I be happy with the service level of that 3rd hop?
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 08:17 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

PM me your IP and ill do a tracert and see if i get something similar.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 08:20 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 468
Default

pm sent
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 08:20 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Well, 932ms of lag is almost a full second, that's a deal breaker for online FPS games.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 08:29 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Well, 932ms of lag is almost a full second, that's a deal breaker for online FPS games.
You would think...yet when I am in COD4...the ping ingame shows at a constant 77ms. And it doesn't seem to be bothering COD4. But COH it is raping me...I continuously drop from games the last 2 nights. There something different about Relics online gaming stuff. I can only think this 3rd hop is screwing me over. Oddly enough I couldn't connect to Relic Online until a couple tries one night. When I asked if the sever was down...people in chat said no.

I've been doing a few tracert's over the afternoon and the ping seems to at times be 1800ms and then at times down to 50ms. And then jumps up high again....or times out all together.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2012, 10:10 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

Well hop 3 is still in your ISP it looks like, I'd let them know.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creative Nomad Jukebox Zen Xtra cmac79 Audio 1 August 1, 2009 06:41 AM
[FS] Checking interest.... P182SE (Windowed + xtra panel) Mike_E Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 21, 2009 12:03 PM