Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 08:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Gigabit ONLY router - No WIFI or VPN

Folks,

I'm looking for an (relatively) inexpensive router (i.e. $100 or less) that has at-least 4 gigabit lan port, no wireless and no inbound vpn capabilities.

Due to where it's going to be installed, we do not want to have a router with wireless or vpn inbound even of those function are disabled.

Simplistically, we are looking for the equiv of a BEFSR41 that is Gigabit instead of FastE.

It's looking like that type or router does not exist anymore (found ref to an old ASUS RX3141 that might have done the trick), unless you get into the more expensive commercial devices....

My fall back is a 10/100 wired only router with a gigabit switch behind it.

On a more theoretical side, why is it these days, that all the manufacturers think that if you want gigabit, you must also want to have VPN or Wireless?..... (unless you are a business with $$$ to spend)...


Little Brutus
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 08:32 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

You aren't going to find a non-enterprise (ie: inexpensive) router that meets your requirements. You'd be better off building your own router or hacking apart an existing one. Your fall back solution would work as well.

As to why consumer routers always have wireless/VPN features, it's simply because more features makes for easier marketing. Consumer level requirements don't include bulletproof security so just giving the option to disable wireless is good enough.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 08:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Default

Yeah, sounds like your fallback option is going to be your best bet.

As mentioned manufacturers are adding wireless to pretty much all of their routers because that is where the market is right now. Aside from the few very rare cases, most people want wireless functionality in their router, so hence that is what the products are catering towards. As for VPN functionality, it is another marketing point, and is simply software so very cheap to add.
__________________
We are shaped by fate, just as we shape it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 09:07 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

good luck with that

it's a competitive market and manufacturers will add on in-expensive features to try and edge out a sale. More is better than quality right? :P
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 09:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Pretty much expected that.

A little disappointing that there are a bunch (at least a selection) of wired only 10/100, but no gigabit.

Going to be a bit more of an issue in the future when broadband connections routinely exceed 100mbit.

More annoying is that what I'm looking for USED to exist <GRIN>.

Personally I dislike the "all in one device" solutions. You only end up with the mediocre implementations of each (routing, wireless, switching....)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 12:12 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

I guess we're lucky we live in Canada then, right? Those 100mbit routers are going to last us another two decades at least!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 12:33 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,119

My System Specs

Default Switch ?

shopRBC.com :: Netgear ProSafe 8-Port Switch w/4-Port PoE

Like that ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 02:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Brutus View Post
Personally I dislike the "all in one device" solutions. You only end up with the mediocre implementations of each (routing, wireless, switching....)
Kind of contradicting yourself since even a consumer wired router is more than just a router. It's a firewall and performs NAT and switching. ;)

I say just buy a wireless router and cut off the antennas leads. Majority of routers are pretty easy to open up.

If you buy any old wired-only router, it's going to have much slower routing performance compared to the current crop of wireless routers.

Just make sure you put a strong password on the admin interface and you should be fine IMO. If you want to go further, somehow prevent access to the reset button on the router. Super glue a piece of metal/wood over it or do something along those lines.

Otherwise, look into an appliance such as this: RouterBoard.com : RB750GL however it's far more challenging to configure.

Last edited by JD; July 30, 2012 at 02:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 02:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
I guess we're lucky we live in Canada then, right? Those 100mbit routers are going to last us another two decades at least!
Well, Rogers is getting close (Ultimate moving to 75/10).

However, Bell now has FTTH in some areas. One of their packages is 175/175, however not cheap <G>.... and it's Bell.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2012, 02:05 PM
Tim_H's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 216
Default

something like this?
RouterBoard.com : RB750GL
Not sure what the "router os" is like but they do have Canadian distributors that you could buy from
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D-Link Gigabit Router. norfolk Price Check 2 April 27, 2012 10:33 AM
Gigabit switch or Gigabit router? MARSTG Networking 19 April 23, 2012 05:36 AM
Gigabyte (edit: Gigabit!!! ;) ) network switch internal to DHCP router? sswilson Networking 15 June 5, 2011 10:53 AM
I Need a Gigabit wireless/Internet Router for small apartment CoolHandL Networking 7 November 4, 2010 10:49 AM
Gigabit router - things to consider? Mr. Cipher Networking 3 March 3, 2008 08:28 AM