Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 10:36 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default Need better wireless access point/router

Ok, so I am looking for a better wireless solution. Right now I have the Actiontec 1000H from Telus. This has been working fine for a basic router (well passable really) but the wireless is really pathetic. I mean my neighbors signals are stronger on my phone than mine is.

So I am looking for either a straight AP or a decent wireless router. If it is a router I would only be running it as an AP. The reason for that is to avoid the double NAT issues and all the Telus crap with not easily being able to bridge things. I might down the road get it all to work off of a different router but really my main issue now is just wireless strength.

So any recommendations out there? I am also going to be trying to be as cheap as I can with this, but I still need quality. So best performance for lowest price is what I am looking for.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 11:18 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

I prefer the Asus RT-N16

However it's not the cheapest. Upgradable antennas are a good thing too.... Tomato or DD-WRT loads on fine as well, with all the trimmings.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 01:31 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Just wondering what you have on it? Do you have Tomato or DD-WRT? Looks like most reviews say that it sucks unless you have either one of those firmwares on it. But the price is not bad as it is on for only $80 at Memory Express right now.

Actually does anyone have the Asus RT-N56U? Seems like it is the next evolution of that RT-N16. It seems to get some decent reviews online.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."



Last edited by ipaine; July 21, 2012 at 01:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2012, 02:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Asus has been pretty diligent with their router firmware updates in the past 2 years, the newer RT-N16's now ship with AsusWRT, which is basically a rebranded DD-WRT. If there's no need for the 5ghz band, the RT-N16 is probably your best bet. (they often get as low as ~$70-80 on sale)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 08:48 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Actually does anyone have the Asus RT-N56U? Seems like it is the next evolution of that RT-N16. It seems to get some decent reviews online.
I've had the RT-N56U for the past year. Firmware is fisher-price ugly, but it's been solid for me, and Asus has been pretty diligently updating it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 10:33 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

The RT-N56U is considered one of the best routers to my knowledge, capable of very fast LAN to WAN speeds, important if you're running over 100mbit download speeds from your ISP.

Otherwise, if you're not using 5ghz wireless and have no use for that speed then the RT-N16 still gets my vote, and you can replace the antennas.... which is something I don't believe you can do on the RT-N56U

Using DD-WRT and 9db antennas I've been told that my AP is accessable a block away. Yay for long and convoluted passwords.

This brute force ugliness is what I've resorted to in order to make my wifi work because EVERYONE here has wireless modems now, which are all turned on, regardless of whether they use them or not. Channel saturation here is disgusting.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2012, 12:30 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

I've been pleased with the results from a Netgear WNDR3800.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Access Point botat29 Networking 3 April 9, 2011 01:19 PM
Checking Interest: Meraki Outdoor Wireless Access Point jcmaz Off Topic 1 March 20, 2011 08:30 PM
Wireless access point setup Evylldemon Networking 16 July 23, 2009 07:31 PM