Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2012, 01:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default Interference over 5Ghz

Hi all,

Please tell me if I understand this right. Bare with me while I explain the story.

I currently have a Cisco N router and I have the following connecting wirelessly to it :
  • 1x Desktop Computer (G)
  • 2x Potential Laptops (One G, the other N)
  • 3x Cell phones (IPhone 3GS + 2x Nexus S)
  • 1x BluRay player
  • 1x TV (Stupid TV apps) <-- Currently disabled
  • 1x PS3
  • 1x Wii

I also have a wireless logitech keyboard and a logitech G700 near (2 others around 15 feets from there). My router is around 3 feets from me. Now here is my problem : The mouse is skipping even when putting channel 1, 6 or 11.

Now here is what I was wondering. I said to myself, hey, if the problem is that too much is going over 2.4Ghz, let's buy a 5Ghz router. Then I said to myself, WRONG, even if I buy a 5Ghz router, all my devices don't use dual bands thus everything will fly around on 2.4Ghz and I would have bought a router for nothing (except for that Cloud thing Cisco advertises).

Am I thinking correct?
Will moving the router further than 3 feets from me help out?
Will moving the USB connector closer to the mouse help out?
Will our cape crusaders get out in time? Find out tomorrow, same Bat-Time! Same Bat-Channel!
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2012, 02:40 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

RJ 45 wire fore desktop will help take stess of wirless card in the router ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2012, 05:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

The desktop is rarely in use while I am using the mouse. The wired desktop is mine, the other is my GF's and is the one around 15 feets from the router.

Good point though.
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2012, 05:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

What model is it? Is it a simultaneous dual band model, or just standard wireless "N"? Any wireless "G" device is only going to connect using the 2.4 G range (that's all they can do no matter what the router is capable of putting out), and if it's not a dual band + simultaneous router then it will default to G speeds (2.4G band) if a single "G" unit is connecting to it.

Bottom line though is that I think you misunderstand what devices are capable of connecting at the 5G band.... only wireless N devices will be able to do that, wireless G devices will always connect on the 2.4G spectrum.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2012, 04:56 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 150

My System Specs

Default

The model is E1000

I might have not written my thought correctly but I understand this as you just described. The only thing is that the only device that uses N around here is my GF's laptop and maybe the disabled TV, I'll have to look. So in my case, if I get this right, I will still continue to mainly use the 2.4Ghz thus will still have the issues.
__________________
Mayoo

Gameplay > Graphics ... oh wait

Food > Gameplay > Graphics > Movies > Sleep > Work
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2012, 05:06 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,474

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mayoo View Post
The model is E1000

I might have not written my thought correctly but I understand this as you just described. The only thing is that the only device that uses N around here is my GF's laptop and maybe the disabled TV, I'll have to look. So in my case, if I get this right, I will still continue to mainly use the 2.4Ghz thus will still have the issues.
I've got the E3000 which is their simultaneous dual band, I strongly suspect the E1000 is just a standard wireless "N" which means that even if your neighbour attempts to connect to it using a wireless G device it'll default down to 2.4 Ghz for all connections no matter how many wireless N devices you've got.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R3E 980X 4.5Ghz w/HT turtletrax Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 19, 2011 07:33 PM
i7 920 can't get past 3.5Ghz fjanicki Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 November 2, 2010 02:46 PM
What OS to Install on a Pentium 4 @ 1.5Ghz? geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 18 January 25, 2010 12:40 AM
Arg Can't get to 3.5Ghz !!! Tango3 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 April 17, 2009 06:42 PM
FS: Apple PowerBook G4 1.5ghz 1GB Cheator Buy/Sell & Trade 11 April 7, 2008 07:50 PM