Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 2, 2012, 05:36 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Multiple pc on cable modem

I'm a total newb with networking...

We changed our phone from bell to cable, I would now need a dry loop for my internet (teksavvy), but for the same money (extra 10$/month) I can get a bit faster download if I switch to cable internet (still with teksavvy of course).

But...I currently have a speedtouch 546 with 4 ports and I'm using 3 of them, 2 pc and 1 for home theater.
I'll need to get a cable modem (probably Moto sb6120) but noticed all the cable modems have only one port...????

So now I need to know...

- Can I just get a switch ??
- or do I need to buy a router ?? if so, what would be a good/cheap one ??

ps: I don't want wireless
Old June 2, 2012, 05:42 AM
F@H

My System Specs

Well the reason it only has one port is because I believe it is a pure modem, meaning that's all it does. What Bell and Rogers normally do/offer are the modems that have routers built into them. That's why they typically include 4 ports on them. Personally I hate the software normally installed on this modem/router hybrids, disable the router portion and run it to a router of my choosing instead.

For yourself, you're going to need an actual router, as that modem you have mentioned there is not part router. If you were to just use a switch it wouldn't really work as it does not do DNS, meaning none of your computers would be getting unique IP addresses and you wouldn't have a home network (resulting in collisions, which is bad).