Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 04:56 PM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

Ya, cruising the net for a router and getting dizzy from all the choices...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 05:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

As the others have noted, wireless routers are all over the place so they're actually cheaper than any current non-wireless routers (generally for business use these days).
There are quite a few out there (I don't even know why they release so many), but since you're not using wireless at all, then you only have to care about whether the router has 10/100 ports or gigabit (10/100/1000) ports. Look for gigabit ports if you plan to transfer large files between computers in your home (e.g. using a computer or a network-attached storage for backups). Otherwise, just get the cheapest wireless router with the number of ports that you need (probably going to be a 10/100 model).

Although it probably won't matter for your usage, it may be good to get a router that is compatible with alternative firmware (e.g. DD-WRT or Tomato firmware) so you have choices if there's something you really don't like about the software of the router. I personally use a Linksys WRT610N and Linksys WRT-54G (both discontinued) with DD-WRT firmware.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2012, 05:35 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

This is what you want.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2012, 04:10 AM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

Thanks supa and everyone, it's in the mail.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2012, 01:54 PM
Dan Dan is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default UPDATE

UPDATE:
Bought the Motorola SB6120 (DOCSIS 3.0) modem with the Cisco Valet M10 router (wireless disabled).
I have 2 pc and my home theater wired to the Valet.
Ordered the 8Mb/1Mb from Teksavvy and I'm actuelly getting over 1000 kB/s on my Utorrent downloads.

Thanks everyone for all your help...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable Modem Problems Pansophic Networking 6 December 18, 2010 07:26 AM
[WTB] internet cable modem mo' power Buy/Sell & Trade 11 July 19, 2010 12:39 PM
[WTB] Teksavvy Compatible Cable Modem ASharp Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 7, 2010 11:49 AM
[FS] Xbox 360: Halo 3 ODST, HDMI AV Cable, VGA AV Cable (All Brand New) icarus2 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 20, 2009 11:30 AM
New Modem Zmanno999 Networking 3 November 17, 2009 12:54 PM