Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2012, 12:47 PM
NSdeadly1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia
Posts: 238

My System Specs

Default Slow Connection With Intel 82579V

My new Sabertooth motherboard has the built in Intel 82579V which is supposed to be one of the best controllers out there but it seems very slow. My connection for gaming seems fine but web browsing is painfully slow. The main thing i notice is that if i'm trying to view a site that has a lot of pictures (ie. NCIX) it seems to take a long time to load. I've tried searching for fixes but i can't seem to find anything. Does anyone here have experience with this controller? I'm quite sure it's not my router or connection as my wife's computer and my laptop seem to work just fine. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2012, 04:56 PM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

try speedtest to rule out your side

Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2012, 05:26 PM
NSdeadly1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia
Posts: 238

My System Specs

Default

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1938078609.png
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2012, 05:46 PM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSdeadly1 View Post
thats a nice speed ,same as me

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1938102496.png

who is your ISP? mine is Eastlink and fibreoptic,but I have noticed during prime times a very high ping sometimes up over 190,and that can cause issues

Edit by mod: Please use the edit button, do not triple post within the same few minutes as it's against the rules

Last edited by Arinoth; May 8, 2012 at 05:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 05:36 AM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfglass View Post
who is your ISP? mine is Eastlink and fibreoptic,but I have noticed during prime times a very high ping sometimes up over 190,and that can cause issues
You have fibreoptic? Because what I'm seeing from your speedtest is not fiberoptic at all. Looks like a standard Eastlink 20/1 line.

Which is exactly what NSdeadly1 has according to his speedtest.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 05:53 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

That doesn't look like fibreoptic at all as they have considerably higher upload speeds. Also, I was under the impression that only Bell currently had/offered it and not to any re-distributors as of yet (I could easily be wrong)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 08:58 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

Eastlink touts their connections/network as HFC - Hybrid Fibre Coax. Fibre sounds better so that's what people hear/want to believe. That's a normal speedtest for them on the older 20/1 plan. If it's only during web browsing and not gaming, perhaps try a different browser? If you copy stuff from one computer to another what kind of speeds do you see?
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 04:25 PM
NSdeadly1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia
Posts: 238

My System Specs

Default

It only happens when viewing web pages with a lot of pics or flash links like the ones here. Everything else seems to be fine. I'm at a total loss. All drivers are up to date and have been uninstalled and reinstalled multiple times. Windows is legal and a fresh instal. Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 06:33 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried a different browser? Like Firefox, Chrome or Opera?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2012, 12:50 PM
NSdeadly1's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia
Posts: 238

My System Specs

Default

It seems that I might have finally figured it out. I uninstalled Firefox and ran CCleaner to make sure nothing was left, did a reinstall of Firefox then completely removed IE and it seems ok now. Either the 2 were conflicting some how or the previous instals(and there were a few lol) were corrupting some how. Thanks for the help everyone, if it happens again i'll let everyone know.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connection slow Dwayne Troubleshooting 30 May 13, 2012 01:22 PM
GIGABYTE Releases Free Tool to Check SATA Connection on Intel Chipset FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 4 February 8, 2011 10:54 PM
W7 / Intel SSD - Slow Web Surfing - Posting rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 October 27, 2009 03:02 PM
You think your connection is bad? MpG Off Topic 0 September 10, 2009 03:41 PM
8 pin or 4+4 pin CPU connection ? Unklmo CPU's and Motherboards 4 August 8, 2007 06:05 PM