Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2012, 08:16 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 717
Default Recommend a coax to ethernet kit

I done some testing and it seem my Belkan ethernet over powerline is giving me crap speed. When I stream a video file from my server to wireless router it works fine. However, the same file to same router -> Belkan over powerline kit -> TP-Link AP, it lags. Hell, even without the TP-Link AP, my PC is getting a lot of high pings. I see some peeps here got good result with ethernet over coax and want to try it out myself. However, I worry that my cable modem will mess up the network.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 04:44 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

That would be basically thinnet/thicknet back from some 30 years ago? I don't believe I've seen anyone recently use coax for their home network.

Can you list the models of your power line kit and your router? It could be that one of them is the culprit. Most people have fairly good success with powerline ethernet.

Also you should be able to stream HD-quality video over WiFi without issue either.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 07:03 AM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 190

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
That would be basically thinnet/thicknet back from some 30 years ago? I don't believe I've seen anyone recently use coax for their home network.

Can you list the models of your power line kit and your router? It could be that one of them is the culprit. Most people have fairly good success with powerline ethernet.

Also you should be able to stream HD-quality video over WiFi without issue either.
MOCA works fine for streaming high bandwidth media, as almost anyone with a Telus Optik install can attest. I disagree with your opinion on streaming HD over wireless, something to be avoided at all costs and used as a last resort only.

MOCA can be pricey, it might be worthwhile to try another powerline kit from another manufacturer.

FS: Gefen Ethernet Over Coax with 4 pont switch MOCA 200mbps - Beyond.ca - Car Forums
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!


Last edited by WhippWhapp; April 24, 2012 at 07:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Okotoks, AB
Posts: 8
Default

I initaly went wireless in my house, however finding speeds so slow (takes forever to copy a 10 GB file) i ran CAT5E through the cold air ducts.
didn't take any modification, so easy to remove later...
just an option.
can't help you with the ethernet over powerline
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 10:11 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i currently use a moca kit from netgear. I don't have very many issues with streaming video. However keep in mind that MOCA speeds are currently still way below gigabit ethernet so don't expect blazing fast file transfers. i get around 5-7MBPS
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2012, 02:02 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 717
Default

I'm using a Linksys E3000 with Toastman firmware and the Belkin Powerline kit is a VideoLink 3. The network is the following:
Code:
			|---> my PC
			|
		----> Belkin ---> TP-LINK wireless AP  (2nd floor)
		|
		| (powerline)
		Belkin
		|
		|
Modem ---> E3000 <--- File Server (basement level)
So I tested a video file of varies bitrates (3000 to 5000+) from the file server with my Kindle Fire. If I access the 5000 bitrate copy from E3000 it plays fine and it buffers fine. However, if I access the same file (5000 bitrate) from the TP Link, it plays but it will pause and a lot to buffer. Even from my PC it jerks like crazy. But if I don't have to go over the Powerline, I can play the file from PC perfectly fine over the TP Link AP.

I checked out the MOCA website and the Netgear isn't listed anymore. Gefen seem a bit expensive compare to Actiontec. Anyone have experience with Actiontec? They appear to be a supplier to broadbands.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gigabit ethernet on cat5e? dandelioneater Networking 7 March 19, 2012 05:36 PM
Green Ethernet enaberif Networking 7 November 2, 2011 07:57 AM
Tv + Ethernet + Desktop PC. HELP FrozenNorth Display Units 11 September 11, 2011 05:56 PM
usb to ethernet connection Blu Storage 2 June 8, 2011 11:24 PM
Onboard vs. Soundcard re:coax biff Audio 3 October 1, 2009 10:41 AM