Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2012, 09:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 7
Default

Technically maximum length of 100m is not 100m of horizontal run; 90m of horizontal run and 5m of patch cables on each end. And there should not be any issue with 100base-tx because I am using 100m of CAT5e for my Fast Ethernet and it performs well(94Mbps and even 1ft is the same), but if you consider 1000base, I'd recommend a good quality MM fibre too.
If you think of scalability, a pair of optic fibres is capable of any transmission speed from 100Mbps to 10Gbps or could be faster as long as a module uses an MM fibre; you just need to swap SFPs or other modules. And no EMI issues as already mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 21, 2012, 02:16 AM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the replies. For this job, I just ran regular cat5e with the repeater since they had a switch that provided PoE. But I will definitely look into fiber runs in the future. And @Bissa, you're right. Those prices are actually not as high as I would have expected. It is definitely an option for future works.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] AM2 heat sink fan + back plate bracket (Asus OEM parts) + ethernet, SATA cable Sui Buy/Sell & Trade 17 September 5, 2012 10:07 PM
Green Ethernet enaberif Networking 7 November 2, 2011 08:57 AM
usb to ethernet connection Blu Storage 2 June 9, 2011 12:24 AM
Getting an ethernet cable to the basement help! ADay2Long Networking 15 November 17, 2010 03:57 PM
[FS] Xbox 360: Halo 3 ODST, HDMI AV Cable, VGA AV Cable (All Brand New) icarus2 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 20, 2009 12:30 PM