Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 03:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default Shutdown UPS by command line

Hi all,

I want to know about UPSes from American Power Conversion

I have a Smart-UPS RT 6000 XL connected with a Linux Server by network cable and a Network Management Card 2 AP9631.
I have too a Smart-UPS 3000 XL connected with another Linux Server by 940-0127E FCI cable (USB).

My whole system is based in Linux OS (Fedora).

My problem is: I want to know how I can, by command line (by terminal, shell), shutdown these two UPSes.
I've tried PowerChute, but PC Server and Console Edition run just in Windows, right?

By the way, i'd want a command that I could turn on the UPSes, after they be shutted down, just pressing the power button(by physical way).

Thank you all!!
(Sorry about my english, its very defective)

(I want to do this for protection's issues)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 04:04 PM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

I don't believe you can shut down the UPS's (unless the battery dies) via terminal. I may be wrong though. I'll have to do a little more research.

Most solutions out there allow the UPS to gracefully shut down the servers/desktops when power has failed and/or has not been restored after a period of time. Some examples of this include the following which you can look into:

upsmon(8): UPS monitor/shutdown controller - Linux man page

Apcupsd, a daemon for controlling APC UPSes
__________________
Friends don't let friends use onboard video.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 07:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Van
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

APCUPSD User Manual

You might also want to look into sending SNMP commands to the 6000 via the network. You'd use 'snmpset' from the netsnmp tools. But you'll probably have to install an APC MIB and work out the correct OID first... this method isn't as simple.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 07:14 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

read.pdf use thier software for network management and have UPS on a lan of the computer you want to control
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 10:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Hey, thanks for the answer!

Well, heres my entire problem: I need to shutdown a few servers AND the two UPSes when the temperature get high in the room.
(Understood? sorry about the english lol)

BUUUUT, I just have Linux OSes. I have no Windows for the Server or Console PowerChute.


About the AP9631 command lines, there is a command(ups -c off) that just turn the OUTPUT POWER off. Could this be a shutdown command?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command & Conquer Thread Supergrover Gaming 12 March 1, 2011 09:20 PM
command and conquer 4 CTA Gaming 8 November 4, 2010 11:05 AM
Command rate question Wurmer RAM 3 August 14, 2009 07:46 AM
OCZ Gold 3x2GB Command Rate HuttFuzz RAM 2 May 18, 2009 01:44 PM
Command & Conquer Red Alert 3: Uprising Alwaysrun Gaming 12 March 16, 2009 09:49 PM