Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 01:18 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default High Speed Cable Test

Lol...all this recent talk about networks/speeds lead me to go and test my High Speed Cable.

Here's one result taken from Speedtest.net:



These test were done from Downtown Toronto around 16:00(rush hour) with a Rogers Cable Extreme connection. Supposedly this will give me 8Mbps down and 800Kbps up.

I'm also going to check what others rate my speed at, around this time. Here's the Intel Speedtest




This is the Bandwith Place Speedtest:

This is the Primus Speedtest:




This is the Speakeasy Speedtest:



Fairly small difference between all of them except for Intel/Bandwith Place Speedtest! Check your speed and post the results here!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?

Last edited by Prof. Dr. Silver; March 26, 2008 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 01:36 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default



Pipe is 45 mbit down, at least 10 mbit up, which I can get depending on the source/destination.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 01:41 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default



Not too hot, but a busy time of day for cell phones to the bandwidth is a little light

EDIT_ holoy moly Mars- that's some serious speed

Last edited by Babrbarossa; March 26, 2008 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 01:42 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
Pipe is 45 mbit down, at least 10 mbit up, which I can get depending on the source/destination.
Wow...that is a sick result! w0000t...and how much you pay for that? LOL
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 02:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Wow...that is a sick result! w0000t...and how much you pay for that? LOL
$300 per year is the official IT/tech fee at my school, which covers internet/cable/phone.

I'm moving off campus in about a month to Eastlink's 15/1 mbps package which is $110/month (splitting with 3 other guys) for internet/cable/phone. Will be mostly the fast upload speed I'll miss, being able to send stuff to people at their max download speed is great.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 02:28 PM
bobletman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default



Here is mine, Im runnning some stuff in the background so it may be a little slower
__________________
Q6600 Core 2 quad @ 3.0Ghz
2gb of patriot ram reduced latency.
500GB 7200 rpm Seagate (baracuda)
BFG nvidia 8800 GTS 512 MB G92 core
Zalman CNPS9700 LED CPU fan
Ultra X-Blaster computer case
P5K-E Wifi edition MOBO
G15 keyboard and G7 mouse
22 inch widescreen samsung
Z5300e speaker system
3Dmark06 score 15K
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 03:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,639

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
$300 per year is the official IT/tech fee at my school, which covers internet/cable/phone.

I'm moving off campus in about a month to Eastlink's 15/1 mbps package which is $110/month (splitting with 3 other guys) for internet/cable/phone. Will be mostly the fast upload speed I'll miss, being able to send stuff to people at their max download speed is great.
Are you in HFX?

Good luck actually getting 15 out of eastlink. I'm lucky to break 10.

It's still fairly good service though, and not many sites will serve 15 anywise. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 03:59 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Are you in HFX?

Good luck actually getting 15 out of eastlink. I'm lucky to break 10.

It's still fairly good service though, and not many sites will serve 15 anywise. :)
Nope, Antigonish, at St. FX. :)

I've never dealt with Eastlink before, only the usual tear-your-hair out dealings with Aliant before I moved here for school.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 04:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,639

My System Specs

Default

Heh... I spent a couple of years with Alliant up in the Valley. Dropped connections were so frequent (several times daily) that I vowed never to pay for a PPPoe account again.

Overall I've been pretty happy with Eastlink here in HRM. Very few real issues in 6 years, and I don't need to take off my shoes to be able to count the # of times I've had an outage which lasted longer than 15 minutes. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2008, 04:30 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

im paying for 5mbps down/ 1 mbps up by result are more like :

Avg : 600kbps down max 754kbps
avg : 650kbps up, max 857kbps

i think they are doing a joke with that 5mbps
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes