Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 14, 2012, 09:02 PM
Rookie

Question Powerline HELP!

hey guys,

I am asking for your opinion if anyone have used powerline before. First off, I don't know what brand to get. There seems to be Trendnet, DLink and WD.

Trendnet TPL-303E2K 200MBPS Powerline AV Fast Ethernet Adapter Kit - TRENDnet - TPL-303E2K

Western Digital WDTV Livewire Powerline Networking Kit With Two 4PORT Homeplug AV Adapters - Western Digital WD Retail - WDBABY0000NBK-NESN

D-Link Powerline AV 200 1-Port Network Adapter (DHP-306AV) : Powerline - Best Buy Canada

they are all 200mbps powerline adapter. Personally I've never bought Trendnet products and dont know how reliable they are, but DLink I have had some experience with their router products, but not powerline, and WD, i thought they just made hard drives.

so what do i need to look for when buying powerlines?
Old March 14, 2012, 09:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I have the trendnet powerline. I highly recommend getting the 500mbps as they are significantly faster. Remember that 200mbps is the maximum and in reality will be slower. Depending on distance it can be much slower.

The only problem I have had is once every few months I have to unplug an adapter and plug it back in as for some reason it looses connection. Oh and that only happens on the downstairs one.

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Old March 14, 2012, 10:03 PM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

One of my friends has a trendnet adapter and he says it works great. Like belgolas said try and get higher mbps especially if you're streaming HD content or will have a lot of devices using the powerline ethernet.

Here's a good how to by Linus.

How to Use Powerline Networking in Multiple Rooms Featuring Linksys NCIX Tech Tips - YouTube

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC