Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 07:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,776

My System Specs

Default New package - Electronicbox

Electronicbox just posted their new plans according the last fall ruling of the CRTC.

It looks good, anyone has experience with them ?

Cable Internet Access Provider In Montreal | ELECTRONICBOX

I might be interested in their 15/1 with 250Gb cap
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 07:24 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,564

My System Specs

Default

Interesting how they only offer the unlimited on a lower speed service. Maybe that's the new model to account for bandwidth hogs if they aren't allowed to enforce caps?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 07:35 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,776

My System Specs

Default

For a pure download point of view, you also have the "speedline" with a unlimited portion each day between 2-5 AM.

I find the 15/250GB package to be a perfect fit for me, so I can get a good speed for multiple user on the web and a "good" cap.
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 07:44 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

A few things you will have to take into account with EB:

- They charge a hefty installation fee
- There is a requirement for a Docsis modem
- Modem rental is $10 per month with a 1 year contract
- Using your own modem will cost you $20.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 07:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,776

My System Specs

Default

The installation fee is 50$ which is comparable with videotron or Bell ...

I would end up buying the modem myself, and only 20$ one-time fee.

I still end up saving 22$/month from what I pay now (I pay too much right now :P).

I was planning to change to Bell (from videotron), but short story.. I can't have access to my roof where the connection is.....


I still need to see if I can get a better deal with Bell if I change all my service to them.
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 08:31 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

I'm getting crazy deals through Bell right now.

Small Business Internet (300GB / 12 Mbps)
Home Phone + Canadian Long Distance
ExpressVu HD w/ HD PVR + 6 Theme Packs + HD Movie package

Total comes to $112 before tax.

Eliminating the Small Business Internet and replacing it with Fibe 16 (80GB) + an additional 120GB ($15/month) would bring my cost to ~$109.

You should be able to get something close to those prices as well, just have your negotiation skills ready...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 08:39 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,776

My System Specs

Default

Oh shit, not bad!

I currently have my cellphone only with them. I would transfer everything (phone, TV, internet). I guess I'll need to call everyday to annoy them as much as possible haha.

What's the requirment to get the small business internet ?
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 10:01 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

You need to have a business number registered with the Quebec government.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 05:25 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,905
Default

How much for the Bell business internet SKY ?

Their packages actually look pretty interesting. I think I'll get either the 8Mbps 250GB or the 15Mbps/125 one.
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 06:59 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
How much for the Bell business internet SKY ?

Their packages actually look pretty interesting. I think I'll get either the 8Mbps 250GB or the 15Mbps/125 one.
As part of my bundle: $44.92.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultimate Package with Rogers Highspeed norfolk Networking 15 February 7, 2012 10:39 AM
Strange package from Coolermaster PerryC Off Topic 22 September 8, 2011 07:53 PM
[FS] AMD package Wurmer Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 21, 2011 05:38 AM
How Do I package stuff to ship? sinticfury Guides & How-to's 25 January 31, 2010 02:06 PM