Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2012, 08:18 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default Will a network switch work for this?

So right now I have 4 computers in my room 3 desktops and a laptop and I only have access to wireless internet since I rent. So right now I have my desktop sharing internet with my one folding machine and my laptop sharing internet with my other folding machine. Only problem is that when I need to take my laptop somewhere I lose internet on my one folding rig. So if I connect a network switch to the shared Ethernet port on my main desktop will that split up the connection so I can connect both folding machines up to my desktop?
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2012, 08:23 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

This is what you want.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2012, 08:48 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Yea was hoping to go the cheap route. Guess I may just get a wireless card for my one folding rig and share a connection on that.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2012, 10:09 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,969

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent_Avenger View Post
So if I connect a network switch to the shared Ethernet port on my main desktop will that split up the connection so I can connect both folding machines up to my desktop?
Yup, should work no problem. Granted it's not the best solution, but it'll do.

Obviously if your desktop is off though, both folding machines will be down too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2012, 10:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

That'll absolutely work as far as I would imagine! No need to spend $90.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 14, 2012, 08:43 AM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

I know it won't be the best solution but if it's cheap and it works(at least for folding) it's good in my books Also I rarely turn my main desktop off since it folds as well. Before I turned it off last night to add a VRM fan it's uptime was 45 days. Well thanks for the confirmation JD and LarkStarr just don't want to go get a switch that wouldn't work and then have a hard time returning it.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2012, 02:28 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Just an update if anyone searches this up in the future. I bought this cheap guy: TP-Link TL-SF1005D 5 Port 10/100M Unmanaged Desktop Switch - TP Link - TL-SF1005D today and hooked it all up works perfectly fine splitting up a shared connection. No performance difference(I'm not gaming or downloading multiple items on multiple comps) between my main comp and the shared connections. Now I'm free to take my laptop with me whenever i want
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attempt #16 to get work failed, and no other work to do Shadowmeph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 January 5, 2012 04:33 PM
Gigabyte (edit: Gigabit!!! ;) ) network switch internal to DHCP router? sswilson Networking 15 June 5, 2011 11:53 AM
How to network 2 computers off of one network drop Arinoth Networking 20 May 18, 2011 10:15 PM
Attempt #10 to get work failed, and no other work to do. LaughingCrow HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 5, 2010 09:29 AM
Network Switch(es) Query Shftup Storage 7 January 15, 2010 05:23 PM