Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 01:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: toronto
Posts: 45

My System Specs

Default 250gb cap @ 50Mbps for $99 @ Rogers?!?!?!

Hello, im just returning to Toronto after living in Tokyo & Seoul for the past 6 years (for work), and coming back to set up internet was insanley shocking!

http://www.rogers.com/web/link/hispe...owDefaultPlans#

Rogers "ultimate" plan is a measly 50Mbps, with a ridiculous 250gb cap, for $99?!??!?!? I almost chocked on my food looking at that. I mean, are there some smaller IP providers that are cheaper because that's highway robbery!!!


Do give you an idea what i was paying in Seoul, i had unlimited broadband, 100Mbps, and i paid $35 a month!!!!! Tokyo, the most expensive city in the world, i had the same plan for $49 a month. Downloading 20gb games on Steam took a about a half hour and i didnt even think about usage caps.


What on earth is happening in Canada? Toronto is the largest city and they're charging $99 for a paltry 250gb @ only 50Mbps? And everyone's fine with this? It's friggin insane! Tell me there are smaller IP providers that provide more reasonable rates? what a shock!

I imagine its done to combat piracy since they're also a cable provider? Would that be correct?
__________________
Desktop: 4790k @ 4.6GHZ | Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB (2x8gb) Crucial Ballistex @ CL9 | Asrock Z97 OC Formula | Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI | 250gb Samsung 840 Evo & 240gb OCZ Vertex 3 MI & 2TB WD Black | Auzentech Forte 7.1 | Seasonic 760wt Platinum | DELL U2711 @ 1440p | Corsair 300R | Win 8.1
Ultrabook: Zenbook UX32LN | i5 4200u | 8GB RAM | Nvidia 840m | IPS Matte @ 1080p | 256GB SSD | Win8.1
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 01:44 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

If you want fast internet, move to the west. Out here you can get 100mbit internet for around 79, thats the cheapest you'll find.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 01:55 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
If you want fast internet, move to the west. Out here you can get 100mbit internet for around 79, thats the cheapest you'll find.
Yep Rogers and Bell have the monopoly around here.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 04:07 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

population density is THE factor for broadband speeds. pretty sure Tokyo is wayyyy more densely populated than any place in canada by several times.

If you want cheaper, faster internet, you need to bring some immigrants back with you :P

EDIT: also, South korea needs to maintain its infrastructure to keep the starcraft players online(and to keep the general population from rioting) ;)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 05:33 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,604

My System Specs

Default

It's either that or move out east where Bell Aliant has no caps.

Ultimately, welcome to the ISP joke that we have here in Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 06:22 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,912
Default

We should start our own ISP company haha.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 07:56 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
population density is THE factor for broadband speeds. pretty sure Tokyo is wayyyy more densely populated than any place in canada by several times.

If you want cheaper, faster internet, you need to bring some immigrants back with you :P

EDIT: also, South korea needs to maintain its infrastructure to keep the starcraft players online(and to keep the general population from rioting) ;)
Nah, if that was the case then Rogers (if they were in Tokyo) would offer 10mbit speeds with a 25gb cap and claim it's all they could do or else they'd have to *gasp* upgrade all the lines.

It happens because we let it happen. Market pays what the "market" will bear.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 09:48 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

See if you can move back to Tokyo and Seoul. I'd love to live there.

You may consider Teksavvy as well, but frankly, they're changing into Bellsavvy. See DSLReports for more information.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 11:30 AM
Lamb's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 813

My System Specs

Default



$54.95 @ Electronic box
60/3 250GB

But that's Quebec only it seems...look for Teksavvy Cable in Ontario I guess...?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 11:54 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,912
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lamb View Post


$54.95 @ Electronic box
60/3 250GB

But that's Quebec only it seems...look for Teksavvy Cable in Ontario I guess...?

So you're happy paying this price for that low speed and cap ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Any 2.5" Sata HDD, at least 250gb darren700 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 August 24, 2011 09:32 PM
[FS] Brand new Xbox 360 250GB Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 5 January 28, 2011 08:38 AM
FORMAT: Seagate 250GB (Barracuda) JORD4N Storage 5 October 16, 2010 10:25 PM
Mushkin Announces Europe III 250GB SSD FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 July 14, 2009 02:17 PM
[FS] MacBook 2GHz 2GB 250GB HDD anabioz Buy/Sell & Trade 8 May 31, 2009 12:15 PM