Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 07:39 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default XP and WPA2, the odyssey

Hi guys! The problem I have today is kinda short but kinda long.
I am having a old Dell latitude D600 with a Uniwill Mini-Pci WL-352BW ( BCM94301Mp ) Wireless adapter.
The laptop came with windows XP SP1 and was then updated to SP 2 and 3. Unfortunatly, after a new windows install for some reason it wont alow me to use any WPA2 setting. They are just not in the list.
I know microsoft made an update for that in the SP3. and the update is installed but I still can<t make it accept any WPA/WPA2 network password.

If any one have a fix or an idea it would be kind since this laptop is pissing me off.

Thx guys!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 08:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,568

My System Specs

Default

IIRC the "hotfix" never worked for WPA2, I ended up using Puppy Linux on my old Toshiba Satellite. No more WPA2 issues after that.

You could also try an adapter that doesn't have to use Windows to setup the connection. I know Asus adapters can do it, but the software is a little unreliable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 08:39 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Same issue here with a Toshiba lappy, fully updated. It needed a Buffalo USB adapter and using the adapter's software to connect to my WPA2-protected WiFi.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2012, 09:22 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

ah that's crap. And the guy is such a jerk called me 3 time since 9AM and came to the store to see if his laptop was ready.Why can't people understand that we will call them back when we are done! <
Thx for your reply it will save me some time on this machine!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes