Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 08:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 153
Default Internet bandwidth useage. -Questions

Let me first say my highest upload is around 60-70KB. My Highest download is around 800KB-850KB.

So right now I'm downloading a few things off the internet. Three file lets say.

File A is downloading around 96KB-112KBs. Uploading around 3-7KB
File B is downloading around 30KB-70KB. Uploading around 10KB-16KB
File C is downloading around 280-350KB Uploading around 1KB-3KB

Now as I'm surfing the internet its like I'm on dial up. Google takes a long time to pull up and pages don't display as quickly now as they would if I was not downloading. If I were to add all the top download peaks they add up to less then 600KBs. Lets just make it 600KB for jokes. Thats still not toping out my max download... then add all the top upload speeds, its 26KBs lets make that 30KBs that also doesn't top my max upload.

So I'm left over with 200KB of download and 30KB of upload left. Why are my pages displaying so slow with that much left over? If I were to use my friends internet which is high speed ultra light pages would load faster right now that I'm download, but last time I check ultra light has 100-125KB download and 10-15KB upload.

Can anyone help me with these questions.

Last edited by NuxTux; March 14, 2008 at 08:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 08:54 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NuxTux View Post
Let me first say my highest upload is around 60-70KB. My Highest download is around 800KB-850KB.

So right now I'm downloading a few things off the internet. Three file lets say.

File A is downloading around 96KB-112KBs. Uploading around 3-7KB
File B is downloading around 30KB-70KB. Uploading around 10KB-16KB
File C is downloading around 280-350KB Uploading around 1KB-3KB

Now as I'm surfing the internet its like I'm on dial up. Google takes a long time to pull up and pages don't display as quickly now as they would if I was not downloading. If I were to add all the top download peaks they add up to less then 600KBs. Lets just make it 600KB for jokes. Thats still not toping out my max download... then add all the top upload speeds, its 26KBs lets make that 30KBs that also doesn't top my max upload.

So I'm left over with 200KB of download and 30KB of upload left. Why are my pages displaying so slow with that much left over? If I were to use my friends internet which is high speed ultra light pages would load faster right now that I'm download, but last time I check ultra light has 100-125KB download and 10-15KB upload.

Can anyone help me with these questions.
You have to remember when your surfing the internet data is sent to and from your computer.

You make a request to the server, the server passes it to you, and you pass back to the server your choice.

The passing back to the server is via upload which is why it seems like its going so slow.

Saturate your upload and internet goes ...... down the toilet.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 09:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 153
Default

Yeah but I still have around 30KB upload left and with a Ultra light connection you only get 15KB to start with. Thats what I'm still confessed about.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 09:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NuxTux View Post
Yeah but I still have around 30KB upload left and with a Ultra light connection you only get 15KB to start with. Thats what I'm still confessed about.
Don't forget about things like instant messenging, windows update, etc etc.

Youd' be surprised how fast your bandwidth can be absorbed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2008, 10:03 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

What OS are you using?

If you're using Vista, check out the reliability and performance monitor, it will show you your total network utilization, and uploads/downloads per process/connection.

I just checked mine, with just my regular internet stuff going (nothing across the LAN), I'm hovering around 20 Mbps total.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 11:24 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

Does it always do that? It could be that the internet is saturated between you and the websites you're trying to access, slowing everything down.

Keep in mind those are MAX speeds, not dedicated speeds (which is why back in the day, when cable first came out, ISDN, although slower compared to cable's max, was still better because it was a dedicated line).
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 12:11 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Have you tried an independent bandwidth tester such as Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test. Choose more than one location to try your tests, some will be better than others, I also find reboting between each test makes a difference to get best speeds.

As an example I am getting about 11500Kbps Down /980 Kbps Up
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2008, 12:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Install DU meter it'll let you see what your upload/download is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally! Apple's answer to all those grandmothers wanting to browse the internet! MacJunky Press Releases & Tech News 8 February 5, 2008 03:43 PM
Internet service provider? really need help. omgwtf Off Topic 29 January 26, 2008 08:45 PM
Cannot Connect To Internet SCW Networking 0 October 26, 2007 07:25 PM
Internet security moving toward "white list" @ CBC.ca sswilson Reviews & Articles from the Web 1 September 17, 2007 09:04 PM
TheTechLounge reviews Linksys iPhone CIT300 dual-mode Internet telephony kit Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 January 22, 2007 03:29 PM