Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 03:17 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default Running VMware server, trying to access it outside my network.

I'm running debian in a VM, I'm trying to SSH in to my server. I've forward port 22 to the IP debian gives me. (192.168.19.128) but accessing it outside my network doesn't work, so i tried forwarding it to my computer IP (192.168.0.100) to see if that made a difference, nope still can't access the server. I have no problem connecting to shell on my own network connecting to 192.168.19.128. Anyone have a suggestion?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 03:30 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Heh. Im working on setting up the same thing. I am using ubuntu 10.10 with openssh setup on it. I can ssh in with any computer on my LAN at home, but haven't yet been able to connect remotely from work. If I get it figured out i'll post back. I'm using puTTy to connect as well as trying it on my ipodtouch with pterm app.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 05:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

you have to make sure your vmware network is set as nat iirc
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 06:58 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

outside your network? you have to access your public IP, not your internal IP.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 08:31 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
outside your network? you have to access your public IP, not your internal IP.
hmm. It just times out and doesnt connect. ssh port is being forward to the server's lan ip. I even put the server on the DMZ, made sure software firewalls were disabled. still doesn't want to go. argh.




This might be worth reading. port forwarding
and this
__________________

Last edited by dandelioneater; January 12, 2012 at 09:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2012, 10:00 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
outside your network? you have to access your public IP, not your internal IP.
Well i know that, it times out when i connect to my external IP or the domain forwarded to my IP.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 08:08 AM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 604

My System Specs

Default

If you have a minute to quickly check, install apache/nginx on your debian VM, create a port forwarding rule for port 80 and try to browse it from the outside. I can guarantee you'll get the same behavior. I think you've butched your port forwarding somewhere along the line. What sort of gateway or router are you using?

Also, I see you guys changed your default SSH ports (good!). Maybe you used 22 somewhere still?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 08:14 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

This is the reason why I prefer the lazy man way, which is to use the freeware software of Team Viewer and just remotely access/control the device using my phone, external computer from the network (either normally or with the web browser).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 11:55 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,869

My System Specs

Default

Your VMware NIC should be set to "Bridged". This will pull an IP directly from your router, and thus you'll be able to port forward it like usual.

By having VMware's NIC on "NAT", you are effectively double-NAT'ing your network, and as such making it impossible to port forward that traffic out/in.

Main goal: get Debian/Ubuntu to get an IP address from your router, likely 192.168.0.xxx. Then in your router, either put that into DMZ or port forward the necessary ports to it. Personally I wouldn't open up SSH on the common ports. Use something unique to prevent script kiddies from hammering it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 11:56 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Your VMware NIC should be set to "Bridged". This will pull an IP directly from your router, and thus you'll be able to port forward it like usual.

By having VMware's NIC on "NAT", you are effectively double-NAT'ing your network, and as such making it impossible to port forward that traffic out/in.

Main goal: get Debian/Ubuntu to get an IP address from your router, likely 192.168.0.xxx. Then in your router, either put that into DMZ or port forward the necessary ports to it. Personally I wouldn't open up SSH on the common ports. Use something unique to prevent script kiddies from hammering it.
Bridged! Right.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Network Cables. maverick_brent Networking 12 June 28, 2011 03:04 PM
Are you running a WEP protected wireless network ? foxman Networking 31 January 5, 2010 11:46 PM
VMWARE Server HOST OS lcdguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 December 2, 2009 08:01 PM
How to access network shares remotely Cardboard box with DSL Networking 4 October 13, 2008 04:57 PM
Some help getting VMWare and SMP up and running zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 54 May 3, 2008 09:40 PM