Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 09:04 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 710
Default

Netgear? Hmm I always thought they are like D-Link. According the Tomato USB, a few of the Netgear 3500 is supported and NCIX does have one listed at $90.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 11:42 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,902
Default

WRT54GL with tomato no problems whatsoever during the past 2 years.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 11:44 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

U
Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
WRT54GL with tomato no problems whatsoever during the past 2 years.
that router doesn't handle internet speeds over 20mbps (i think) well
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 11:48 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 710
Default

Sorry my WRT54GL is currently serving as my Hackintosh's wireless client. Stupid OSX decided not to support my old network card when it upgrade from 10.5 to 10.6. Too lazy to make my own MAC network card.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 12:46 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i have been using one of the new E2500's and it's been rock solid (since i did the firmware upgrade) for 5+ months now. But as has been said you might want something that works with tomato or wrt/dd-wrt.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 02:27 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 710
Default

It's already on Tomato USB but still give me problem from time to time. Last night I completely lost ping to the device. Of course it could be the Belkin Powerline ethernet causing problem but still 400 kb/s transfer before a hard reboot?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 06:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
U

that router doesn't handle internet speeds over 20mbps (i think) well
Nope not very well. Wifi is limited to about 22mbps, and internet about 40-45mbps was the fastest I could get out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2012, 07:30 PM
Zer0's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 72

My System Specs

Default

I've been using a WRT54GL for several years but I have to say a custom pfSense box can't be beat (well, Mikrotik routerboards are another good option but are hard to find in Canada). pfSense is much more powerful than Tomato, more advanced options and plugins. I'm using the WRT54GL as an access point for my pfSense.

https://www.dropbox.com/gallery/9284...Sense?h=a2a260

NCIX FORUMS - pfSense mITX Build - Ultimate Router?

Last edited by Zer0; January 3, 2012 at 07:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 06:10 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

aside from the Tomato bias on this forum the turn-key [off the shelf] routers from Netgear and Asus work well for the price.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2012, 08:29 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

ASUS!!!!! we make the best routers around my N16 has been fighting strong since its days it was a Beta test router. *Cough*TP-Link is great to but dont tell anyone I told you *Cough*
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Leaving the Country Sale - 2x G.SKILL Phoenix Pro 60GB [$60 EACH!] | Xbox Games Devildog Buy/Sell & Trade 17 August 17, 2011 12:09 PM
G9 leaving black residue on my mouse pad Amarthfea Peripherals 19 April 4, 2011 10:27 AM
win 7 freeze after leaving the system unattended car-man666 Troubleshooting 4 September 22, 2010 04:54 PM
[WTB] WTB: Certain Linksys Routers decivox Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 1, 2009 06:59 PM
abit NOT leaving Motherboard Market Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 28, 2008 11:25 AM