LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 27, 2011, 09:31 PM
MVP
F@H

My System Specs

Default Windows Home server Remote configuration Help

Windows Home server Remote Help:
I cant access my whs website or set up Remote

Ive forwarded all my ports HTTP HTTPS RWW on my Dlink DIR655 router to my home server.

I have Shaw net, a surfboard SB5102 Cable modem

When i try to configure my Remote settings on the server console it trys to repair / configure my router
I get the Red X error: Verifying remote website is available for the internet.

UPnP is enabled

My server is on the DHCP Reservation List, what am i missing???????? hours of net research have got me to this point, I'm a network noob,

I thought maybe i was behind a double NAT, but the SB5102 is just a modem....

Ive read: D-Link DIR-655 Router for Windows Home Server Remote Access - HSL Wiki

Remote Access Challenges

and countless other forums .... anybody here?

Need more information?

Thanks
Old October 28, 2011, 05:33 AM
F@H

My System Specs

Are you wanting to be able to remotely access it outside of your house, say at work or at school? I know it sometimes can be a pain in the ass, especially RDC, however I found a program I've been using for a few weeks that blows RDC out of the water.

It's called Team Viewer, and thankfully its free to use if it is for house/personal use. It essentially is like RDC, except you don't have to set any of that port forwarded crap up as it does it automatically. All you have to do is log securely into it either with an account that sits on the computer, or via the username and randomly generated password on it. The only downside is I have to switch from Windows Server 2008 to Windows 7 for my own server as even though I'm using WS 2008 for home use, its still flagged as commercial software.