Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 05:04 PM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default Startech Cat 6 Cables

Has anyone tested / used Startech CAT6 cables? My box of CAT5e only has about 5ft left and I was going to go buy a spool of CAT6. However with the price of Startech cables being 1/3rd that of other pre-made cables it will actually be cheaper to buy those for what I need. I am just a little leery based on price that they aren't meeting CAT6 standards.
Yes, CAT5e is all I need, however why not future proof myself as I hate running cables..I still have a couple rooms on CAT5
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 05:48 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

I would opt for Monoprice over Startech for low-priced cables. I trust Monoprice's quality much more than I do Startech's.

CAT5e vs CAT6 really makes no difference though, both support Gigabit speeds which is all you'll see in homes for quite a few more years. 10Gb Ethernet isn't overly popular yet and definitely hasn't touched the consumer level.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 10:42 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

How long do you need them? I have quite the collection of unused Belden Cat6 Cables around (top tier stuff Belden cable too).

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2011, 11:14 AM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

No longer needed. I managed to score.an amazing price on some rocket fish cables...to think they charge $1 per foot...thankfully they have insane markup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cables 101 (need help) Jeff1961 Display Units 9 February 14, 2011 09:01 PM
[FS] Speaker wire, Audio cables, video cables, VGA, ethernet, AdoP Buy/Sell & Trade 12 December 6, 2010 01:32 PM
Extending PSU Cables? ilya Power Supplies 8 April 28, 2010 04:41 PM
Different quality of USB cables? frontier204 Storage 3 March 5, 2010 03:52 PM
[FS] Logisys PSU, Startech heatsink, and EVGA 7900GS KO ddude27 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 February 10, 2009 07:27 PM