Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 04:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default corning adsl vdsl pots splitter help

Can anyone tell me what this does?
A friend asked if I could help him with his home networking of his house. Every room has a ethernet jack on the wall. Downstairs all the wires come together. I took of one of the wall mounts and only 2 wires are hooked up of the 10 or so wires. Downstairs where all the wires come together all of these wires are only using 2 wires which are connected together separated as positive and negative. These wires then run into a phone jack then to the dsl part of this corning splitter separted by T and R. I believe the phone part of the splitter ran to the alarm system and I did not pay too much attention on where the line splitter was running.

What do I do to make it possible to have internet in every room?
Thanks for any suggestions you may have.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 06:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like they wired everything with Ethernet, but only connected 1 pair so it's effectively a plain ol' telephone line.

Some pictures would be helpful to determine how to go about "converting" it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 06:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Ill see if he can send me a picture of the hookup. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2011, 12:34 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

sounds like the used 4 pair to run the phone drops to each room. If it's 4 pair your in luck. All you would need to do is connect the pair wires to a patch panel. Then patch in cables to the router/switch for the home network.

However doing this will remove the ability to connect a standard phone to the jack. The T and R are for the phone (Tip and Ring).

Honestly if they aren't using the jacks for phones just wire them up as explained above.

you will need to identify what kind of cable was used Cat5, Cat5e or Cat6 so you get the right gear. Most of the stuff you need can be obtained super cheap from monoprice.

I wish my house was wired with 4 pair instead of the stupid 2 pair.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2011, 12:36 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
sounds like the used 4 pair to run the phone drops to each room. If it's 4 pair your in luck. All you would need to do is connect the pair wires to a patch panel. Then patch in cables to the router/switch for the home network.

However doing this will remove the ability to connect a standard phone to the jack. The T and R are for the phone (Tip and Ring).

Honestly if they aren't using the jacks for phones just wire them up as explained above.

you will need to identify what kind of cable was used Cat5, Cat5e or Cat6 so you get the right gear. Most of the stuff you need can be obtained super cheap from monoprice.

I wish my house was wired with 4 pair instead of the stupid 2 pair.
Cat5e is used more commonly than Cat5 and the difference between Cat5e and 6 is so minimal that most people just use Cat5e regardless.

In regards to Gear for networking with Cat5e or 6 it makes no difference.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to create a powerless fridge with 2 clay pots, sand & water Eldonko Off Topic 1 August 11, 2011 10:04 AM
LN2/Dice pots gingerbee Off Topic 6 June 17, 2010 01:16 PM
combined wireless router w/ADSL modem Mr. Friendly Networking 5 April 29, 2009 03:07 PM
Pots, Pans and Cutlery; Maybe the Oddest OT Thread Yet SKYMTL Off Topic 48 July 23, 2008 09:05 PM
CPU Pots in canada Hillsdale Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 January 27, 2008 07:25 AM