Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 03:37 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default Powerline adaptors & Security

How secure is this tech in a condo/apartment setting? I simply plugged mine in waited for them to link up and then hit the security button on the side of each adapter.

I did not use or instal the disc/software the came with the kit.

Is the connection secure or can someone else just plug in the same brand/type of adapter and tie into my network?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 06:56 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Its 128bit encryption if I recall correctly. If the security worked then they would have to break the encryption at that level, using a powerline device compatible with your unit.

If the encryption is enabled, I would be comfortable with it in a condo.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 07:02 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I was also under the impression they work within their own fuse boxes only but I've never used them to test this claim
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 12:38 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,927

My System Specs

Default

I can confirm this but yes they only work in the same breaker box. So even without protection someone would have to plug into one of your adapters directly. I think the encryption stuff only really needs to be used for stuff like some town houses that share a breaker box or business, etc. Don't think it is really needed for a house but a condo you may as well have it turned on.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 08:32 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
I can confirm this but yes they only work in the same breaker box..
I hadn't thought of this, which makes perfect sense, thankyou.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 08:34 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I was also under the impression they work within their own fuse boxes only but I've never used them to test this claim
I'm comfortable with the fuse box explanation, but would be interested in seeing a test too though.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 09:08 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Someone posted a very similar thread about a month ago, but as stated above it's completely safe in a condo.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerline adaptors The Quicken Networking 29 December 28, 2011 08:47 PM
Powerline suggestions Full Speed Networking 3 February 4, 2010 12:16 AM
thermochill rad g3/8 adaptors? cozmosland Water Cooling 2 January 23, 2010 01:18 PM
External Graphics Adaptors FOR LAPTOPS jcmaz Mobile Computing 11 July 25, 2009 10:04 PM
WTB: 3 to 4 pin fan adaptors / STB-3T4-E1 Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 8, 2008 04:28 PM