Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2011, 11:37 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default Powerline adaptors

I want to pick up a powerline kit, but not only are there several brands, there are many models/classes per brand.

Want 200mbs, which should I get??

Asus has one that I can't find much news on yet (too new) Trendnet seems good but so does the Netgear.

Is there any defining qualities I should be made aware of?

Last edited by The Quicken; September 21, 2011 at 11:37 PM. Reason: b/c I don't believe in proof reading
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2011, 06:52 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i would also check out monoprice as they also have some. Finally i am trying out a MOCA coax to ethernet bridge and let you know how it works. So far in my test's it has been quite positive.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2011, 05:40 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

All of them are basically the same. I was running at 200mb/s but I upgraded to a new 500mb/s as I wanted more than just a megabit connection.

NCIX.com - Buy Trendnet TPL-401E2K 500MBS Powerline AV Ethernet Adapter Kit - TRENDnet - TPL-401E2K - in Canada

This is really cheap for a 500 so might as well pick that up.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 03:24 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by belgolas View Post
All of them are basically the same. I was running at 200mb/s but I upgraded to a new 500mb/s as I wanted more than just a megabit connection.

NCIX.com - Buy Trendnet TPL-401E2K 500MBS Powerline AV Ethernet Adapter Kit - TRENDnet - TPL-401E2K - in Canada

This is really cheap for a 500 so might as well pick that up.

f*%#@%$

I already picked up the Netgear from bestbuy (200mbs) for $99.

works better than I had hoped, torrenting & streaming MKV simultaneously. Guess I'm taking it back for the Trendnet lol.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 12:34 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

Make sure you update the firmware as it pretty much doubled my speed.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 12:57 PM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

That Trendnet unit is REEEEEEALLUY popular...
__________________
Please note: I am not here to provide official NCIX support on these forums.

For faster (and official) NCIX service please contact our customer care team at www.NCIX.com (Canada) or www.NCIXUS.com (USA)

Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 01:24 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Went and ordered a kit today, was looking at pics of the adapter (which may not show actual product).....please tell me the Trendnet TPL-401E2K does NOT block access to the other power outlet...?

The NetGear powerline does not which I like.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 01:28 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
i would also check out monoprice as they also have some. Finally i am trying out a MOCA coax to ethernet bridge and let you know how it works. So far in my test's it has been quite positive.
That does look interesting, yes please keep me updated.

Last edited by The Quicken; September 26, 2011 at 01:28 PM. Reason: b/c I don't believe in proof reading
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 04:49 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,922

My System Specs

Default

it doesn't block the other outlet. You can use it up or down as well. There are some powerline adapters that come with a pass through plug but they are a lot more expensive :(

If you want pretty fast lan connection you can get another adapter and place it in the same room. I have a lan room at my house where my 6 pc gaming friends all put their computers so we used to have a switch in the middle of the room but thanks to powerline I just put one adapter on each side of the room and don't have any cables going across. Since I am using a 200 mb/s for the other side I "only" get 145 mb/s which is way more than enough for lan gaming.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 05:47 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

I don't know, something about essentially plugging an ethernet cable into a 120V AC outlet doesn't sit well with me. Has anyone ever heard of one of these failing?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
netgear powerline adapter kit Socrates_Johnston Networking 7 January 29, 2011 04:56 PM
Powerline suggestions Full Speed Networking 3 February 4, 2010 12:16 AM
thermochill rad g3/8 adaptors? cozmosland Water Cooling 2 January 23, 2010 01:18 PM
External Graphics Adaptors FOR LAPTOPS jcmaz Mobile Computing 11 July 25, 2009 10:04 PM
WTB: 3 to 4 pin fan adaptors / STB-3T4-E1 Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 8, 2008 04:28 PM