Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 07:55 AM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default Hosting Website with XAMPP

Hello HWC,

So i just purchased a domain from go daddy.

I have XAMPP installed on the computer that will be hosting my website.

I have a static IP, and i have port forwarded 80 in my router settings.

I have gone into the httpd.conf file and change the line from localhost:80 to my static ip.

The thing i do not understand is how to associate the domain name that i purchased with my static ip. I don't understand how to make my files on my computer display on the domain when someone goes to let say 'www.thisisanexample.com

Thanks
MTP
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up

Last edited by Mistertuxedopants; September 14, 2011 at 08:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 11:17 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

welcome to the joys of DNS. You will need to get your registrar to point the domain to your static ip.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 12:03 PM
Mistertuxedopants's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterd View Post
welcome to the joys of DNS. You will need to get your registrar to point the domain to your static ip.
so i would have to email godaddy and tell them to point my domain name to my ip.

I figured they would just let the user do that in the settings.

EDIT: I found how i can do it. There is a DNS manager on the website.
Just to clarify. I just have to add my 192.168.1.xxx right?
__________________
Holy Bananas

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up

Last edited by Mistertuxedopants; September 15, 2011 at 12:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 12:19 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

192.168.1.xxx is your internal IP in your local network. Your static IP will be determined from the cable/ADSL modem and is assigned by your ISP.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 12:51 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 128

My System Specs

Default

myIPaddress.com: What is my IP address? How do I find my IP address?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 02:41 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

The 192.x.x.x address is not internet routable. Packets aimed at that IP would be dropped before it even left your ISP's domain. DNS has to be pointed towards your external IP address that your router has (from your ISP) then requests to your webserver will pass to your 192.x.x.x address via the router and the port forward you have made or will have to make.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hosting a website with easy php 1.8 ebdoradz Networking 10 February 27, 2012 01:01 AM
Need Help Hosting Website Eniigmaa Off Topic 1 July 3, 2010 11:24 AM
Please help me in choosing web hosting 0zas Networking 2 January 15, 2010 05:52 AM
Good Hosting website? Polygon Off Topic 10 January 14, 2010 12:50 PM
Has anyone ever used a Europe-based dedicated server for hosting a N.American Website HoTiCE_ Off Topic 4 April 5, 2009 11:29 AM