Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 12:29 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default DD-WRT with Guest option

Sister is opening a small business, has mild network needs. Recommendations for linksys router
(preferably) with mature dd-wrt firmware that has a GUEST option (for wireless access).

Safe access to wireless printer would be a + (for guests)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 12:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Quicken View Post
Sister is opening a small business, has mild network needs. Recommendations for linksys router
(preferably) with mature dd-wrt firmware that has a GUEST option (for wireless access).

Safe access to wireless printer would be a + (for guests)
Your better off running 2 separate routers on different IP addresses for this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 12:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

^ this. just from a security standpoint as well, never mind the ease.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 01:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Linksys/Cisco has routers meant for small businesses with all the features you mentioned and more - but they can be pricey compared to a DD-WRT solution.

TBH, if it's a small business, you just have to be well defended against script kiddies, real hackers honestly wouldn't bother with you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 01:30 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Your better off running 2 separate routers on different IP addresses for this.
Ok, can you elaborate how you would set it up? (network map)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 01:34 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Quicken View Post
Ok, can you elaborate how you would set it up? (network map)
Internet Modem -> Router #1 (192.168.1.1) -> Router #2 plugged into Router #1 (192.168.0.1)

You can then essentially have the business running off Router #1 and then have any other business like guest people to use router #2.

In our shop we have 2 networks.. Sales and Technical. We also have 2 IPs from our ISP (which some do for free) and have a switch to split the connection.

This way if any viruses get into the Techical Network it doesnt' affect the Sales side and vice versa.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 01:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

You could do that with a single router on DD-WRT...

Just make a virtual WLAN interface, assign it a different IP, enable DHCP and make a 2nd DHCP pool, and then change the "Network Configuration" to "Unbridged". It would effectively be the same as plugging in a secondary router/AP.

I suppose you could also setup VLANs to allow the printer to work on both as well.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 01:59 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Internet Modem -> Router #1 (192.168.1.1) -> Router #2 plugged into Router #1 (192.168.0.1)

You can then essentially have the business running off Router #1 and then have any other business like guest people to use router #2.

In our shop we have 2 networks.. Sales and Technical. We also have 2 IPs from our ISP (which some do for free) and have a switch to split the connection.

This way if any viruses get into the Techical Network it doesnt' affect the Sales side and vice versa.

And for extra security I would change the IP login of the Guest router? (so it's not default ie; 192.168.1.1)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 02:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
You could do that with a single router on DD-WRT...

Just make a virtual WLAN interface, assign it a different IP, enable DHCP and make a 2nd DHCP pool, and then change the "Network Configuration" to "Unbridged". It would effectively be the same as plugging in a secondary router/AP.

I suppose you could also setup VLANs to allow the printer to work on both as well.
I must have done something slightly wrong when I tried w/ mine. Both wireless networks were still able to share files between them.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 02:13 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
You could do that with a single router on DD-WRT...

Just make a virtual WLAN interface, assign it a different IP, enable DHCP and make a 2nd DHCP pool, and then change the "Network Configuration" to "Unbridged". It would effectively be the same as plugging in a secondary router/AP.

I suppose you could also setup VLANs to allow the printer to work on both as well.
Wasn't aware of this but that cuold work too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which option is better? amruthkumar_b Power Supplies 3 August 19, 2011 08:47 AM
gtx 2 way sli, no sli option bshan67 Video Cards 22 June 14, 2011 12:18 PM
Windows Server 2008 Guest access question ADay2Long O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 June 26, 2010 10:57 AM
Guest Commenting Now Available FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 November 4, 2009 10:18 AM