Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 03:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Quicken View Post
And for extra security I would change the IP login of the Guest router? (so it's not default ie; 192.168.1.1)
Correct.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 03:16 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
You could do that with a single router on DD-WRT...

Just make a virtual WLAN interface, assign it a different IP, enable DHCP and make a 2nd DHCP pool, and then change the "Network Configuration" to "Unbridged". It would effectively be the same as plugging in a secondary router/AP.

I suppose you could also setup VLANs to allow the printer to work on both as well.

?? How did I miss this Post?? looked right past it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 03:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

Well if DD-WRT can do that, then there's your solution. the unbridged network configuration is key.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 04:31 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,959

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I must have done something slightly wrong when I tried w/ mine. Both wireless networks were still able to share files between them.
If you "unbridge" them and use different subnets, I don't see how they could.

DD-WRT's GUI can be a bit flaky though at times I suppose, especially with the sheer number of builds they have going. There could be some extra things that need to be set, perhaps via commands, but I'm sure DD-WRT's Wiki/forums would have something about it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2011, 11:53 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
You could do that with a single router on DD-WRT...

Just make a virtual WLAN interface, assign it a different IP, enable DHCP and make a 2nd DHCP pool, and then change the "Network Configuration" to "Unbridged". It would effectively be the same as plugging in a secondary router/AP.

I suppose you could also setup VLANs to allow the printer to work on both as well.
Alright JD, personal router preference for this setup?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which option is better? amruthkumar_b Power Supplies 3 August 19, 2011 09:47 AM
gtx 2 way sli, no sli option bshan67 Video Cards 22 June 14, 2011 01:18 PM
Windows Server 2008 Guest access question ADay2Long O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 June 26, 2010 11:57 AM
Guest Commenting Now Available FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 November 4, 2009 11:18 AM