Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2011, 11:34 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default Wiring Phones

Ok so the phone wiring in my house was done in a piss poor manner. I am hoping to make it more presentable by using a punch down block. But i am uncertain how to proceed outside of getting a punch down tool. Here is what i would like to accomplish.

2 pair in from NID -> Punchdown Block -> Phone jacks in house

I am getting cable internet so i won't be need to filter the demarc.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2011, 11:51 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

If you're going to get a punchdown tool and block. This is some of what I get to play with @ work.

http://www.belden.com/pdfs/TechInfo/DS_15_13_17.pdf

Get a multiplying connector and go from there. If you only have the 1 voice line coming into the house, this is pretty overkill, depending also on how many phone jacks you have in the house. You can cheat a little and hook the multipliers together, but i'd be surprised if there's that many phone jacks in your house.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2011, 11:54 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

there is 5 phone jacks in the house. The multiplying connector is priced way out of my budget.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2011, 07:37 PM
MacGyver's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 17
Default

I use an old credit card or loyalty card instead of a punch down tool because I find the tools too expensive for simply a few personal uses.

Are you going to use a BIX block as suggested by misterd?
If so, you can run pairs of wires on the back side of the block to create a multiplying block, then punch down on the front of the block.
Example: Incoming telephone - Home/Office setup photos | DSLReports Forums
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 06:38 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

well i have access to a bix tool. I am not sure how i would go about setting up a bridge on the bix panel though.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 07:26 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

pm me a shipping address. i will see what i can get away with. merry early christmas
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coolermaster scout wiring... bazza_1964 Cases 9 November 12, 2010 12:00 AM
Wiring up case johnnyuterus Guides & How-to's 10 June 4, 2009 06:27 PM
Need helping attaching the wiring in a Silverstone TJ04 DeGuza New Builds 4 January 7, 2009 12:05 PM
Help with wiring - again newbie kav New Builds 10 November 6, 2008 05:56 AM
swiftech mcp655 wiring Corpus Masochist Water Cooling 15 September 9, 2007 09:30 PM