Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2011, 04:58 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 737
Default

Anyone got the WD kit? I'm thinking about using it for my future VM ESX server which require 2 NIC (1 for admin, 1 for all other traffic).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2011, 05:48 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

another thing i have come across is called MOCA netgear seems to have a product for it. Does anyone here have any experience with this.

FYI... MOCA uses the houses existing coax cables.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2011, 05:58 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,141

My System Specs

Default

Whats the quality and age of existing coax.
When I had home Internet installed here I had to replace the run off cable from outdoors to modem because of a break in cable and age of the cable was not compatable with Internet over Coax. The run from the road to house had to be upgraded also.

Now I can Get a ping of like 17 to Montreal :)
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2011, 08:14 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

not entirely sure. some is probably older but some looks relatively new. I may just end of with wifi in end. But i probably won't be getting internet and such till the end of sept/oct.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 10:13 AM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 32

My System Specs

Thumbs up

I recently moved to a townhouse and used a D-link starter kit to get connected from the living room to the upstairs bedroom. It has worked great and I now recommended them to anyone who uses there connection for gaming and alike. The push button security was a breeze too. Here's a link to the kit I got:

D-Link PowerLine AV Network Starter Kit
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 01:16 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vupont View Post
Does anyone know if Powerline is a good idea say in an apartment suite?
Powerline ethernet should work fine in an apartment suite as most apartments have their own power and watt meter..... so the wiring should be simple and all your own.

Mine worked fine and they're quite old, no encryption.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2011, 02:00 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,556

My System Specs

Default

Apartments will be fine, also not many people use powerline/even heard of it so you shouldn't worry about your neighbors stealing your connections if your apartment is wired weird.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2011, 06:35 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i think i have decided on using the moca system. Will post when i get it setup and working. :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 08:00 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Default

An Ethernet cable is always the best option, however I have been using the 500Mbps Powerline adapters in my house and am quite happy with them
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2013, 08:39 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Using a TP-Link in the house for my Wife (powerline). It is so much more reliable and faster than the wireless, I don't know what I had done without it for so long.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
netgear powerline adapter kit Socrates_Johnston Networking 7 January 29, 2011 05:56 PM
Powerline adapters & routers miggs78 Networking 6 December 10, 2010 11:05 AM
WD Releases Livewire Powerline AV Network Kit FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 3 November 9, 2010 11:18 AM
Powerline suggestions Full Speed Networking 3 February 4, 2010 01:16 AM
NCIX Tech Tips Networking Shootout - Powerline vs Wireless vs Gigabit Ethernet Linus Networking 31 October 14, 2009 07:29 AM