Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2011, 03:12 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Assuming the corporate "gods" don't mind, you could easily do this yourself with store bought cables and save a ton of money.

However, running it to keystone jacks rather than just crimping the end directly should not cost any more money. It's a similar amount of labour required and the parts shouldn't add much to the price.

Another cheap solution, if you already have drops at these locations (or nearby) just pickup a switch and hook it up. That will allow you to add additional PCs without running extra cable back to the main switch.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2011, 07:54 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

The companies I know typically charge $75 bucks per termination, (plus materials), plus a cost per foot for running cable. They test, certify, label all ends, stand behind their work, and corp is more than happy to pay for it!

Do yourself a favor and listen to what the guy is recommending, by avoiding his recommendation you are cutting corners which happens way too often in IT, resulting in issues, troubleshooting costs, reliability issues, and eventually downtime. The savings on the initial bill will evaporate, and the proud feeling of a job done on a tight budget will one-day be replaced by the lame feeling of a job cheaply done to poor quality and non-standards. Where's the value then?
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2011, 03:04 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

But at the same time, if you can do part of the work, it's probably advisable.

They just renovated the lab at my workplace and it would of cost an additional $5000 to remove all the existing network cables. Instead we did the work in a couple hours and saved all that money.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to network 2 computers off of one network drop Arinoth Networking 20 May 18, 2011 09:15 PM
Cables 101 (need help) Jeff1961 Display Units 9 February 14, 2011 08:01 PM
[FS] Speaker wire, Audio cables, video cables, VGA, ethernet, AdoP Buy/Sell & Trade 12 December 6, 2010 12:32 PM
Are you running a WEP protected wireless network ? foxman Networking 31 January 5, 2010 11:46 PM
cables for monitors Tazer-[X] Troubleshooting 9 July 16, 2008 11:08 AM