Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 04:43 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default Slow transfert on home network

Got a little issue here. Between my main computer and my home server ( see spec of both in sig ) I got a very low transfert speed. 10-12 Mbps. I`m pretty sure I should have faster speed. My router is a poor WRT54G2. All network settings seems to be ok and driver are up to date on both computer. But I have no idea where the issue is from. Please if you have any idea let me know :)

Important detail : my server is using Windows server 2008 R2 pro.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 05:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

Is the client wireless? For a G router, 10-12Mbps seems pretty normal to me, depending on distance and wireless interference.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 05:33 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
Is the client wireless? For a G router, 10-12Mbps seems pretty normal to me, depending on distance and wireless interference.
Nop everything is wired.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 06:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Your router is only 100Mbps. That's basically the maximum speed you'll see is 10MB/s.

Assuming your PC's have gigabit NIC's in them, then pickup a gigabit switch and you'll see vast improvements in your speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 07:22 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

damn to used to corporate stuff -_- shame to my dad. I`m used that 100 mbps router give 70/80 mbps transfer rate :( I'll try to save some money to get a Gbit switch. But if I just put a switch in the router will I get better speed?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 07:33 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,495

My System Specs

Default

You can also find gigabit routers for pretty good prices. The TP-Link TL-WR1043ND comes to mind. DD-WRT capable as well.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 07:35 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 239
Default

you will get aroung 10 MB/s with a 100 Mbps switch or router and aroung 80 MB/s with a 1 Gbps switch
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 08:22 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

That's not normal, and you DONT need a new switch.

Try this:
http://www.daveherbert.info/network-bandwidth-throttling-in-windows-7\

In short: Windows 7 network throttling should be disabled, its helped me in more than one case.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 08:30 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I would try it Cmet but your link lead me nowhere?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 09:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

we need to clarify

did you mean 10 Mbps or 10 MByte a second

there is a difference

when the file is transferring what does it say its transferring at ?

if it says 10-12 MB / sec

then you are at your max pretty much

if its just over 1 mb/sec, then yes something is wrong


i ask cause ppl use Mbps and MBps as if they are the same thing, but they are not
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home network ideas Natamanchuk Networking 2 October 28, 2010 07:26 PM
Avoiding slow downs when downloading(namely for other users on the network) Inate8 Networking 29 September 24, 2009 10:03 AM
Messaging over home network ipaine Networking 13 August 5, 2009 10:08 PM
Home network matsta31 Troubleshooting 5 October 4, 2008 05:06 PM
Wired home network matsta31 Networking 12 September 17, 2008 12:24 PM